Does TDS-3 cause you any Hang-Ups?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by ecordle, Mar 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    Hi, Can Anyone help? o_O

    I have just downloaded DLExpert, then TDS-3.
    After Installing them I could connect to the internet but could NOT connect to a single site. I think because it was 'timed out'
    :mad:
    I had to do a system restore, after which I can access the internet freely.

    Has anyone got any ideas as to what caused the problem? and is it safe to install the programs again?

    Thanks ;)
    Ed
     
  2. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    TDS has nothing to do with internet connectivity, and doesn't install a driver which could affect this. You may need to look at LSPFix if that new program installed a driver known as a LSP driver. Do a search in the Port Explorer forum for details on LSPFix

    Perhaps you have installed Port Explorer and the program you are using is incompatible with it - meaning like some other programs it doesn't do what its supposed to do as a LSP (PE does). To resolve this you could try

    a) Uninstall PE and reboot
    b) Install your other program and reboot

    should have internet connection still

    c) Install PE again and reboot

    should have internet connection still.. if not, try LSPFix however it sounds like another one of those misbehaving LSPs :(
     
  3. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    Hi Gavin :)

    Thanks for the advice. Sorry, I wasn't trying to blame TDS-3, Just wondered if there was a clash or something.

    To be honest, I am a REAL 'NEWBIE' :eek:!!! So I don't know anything about Port Explorer or LSP Drivers ... YET! - I'm sure I'll learn. :doubt:

    I will go and find out but in the meantime, any hints to help me on my way would be very much apreciated!!!

    Thanks. Ed ;)

    P.S. Norton Alert tracker keeps telling me it has blocked Stealth UDP port access by syshost.exe, and by 'my computer name', could this be any indication of the problem?
     
  4. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hi,

    SYSHOST.EXE ? or are you mistaking the name. If you have a SYSHOST.EXE, send it to submit@diamondcs.com.au since it is probably a trojan

    The software you installed which caused you to not be able to visit sites may need configuring, or you could email them for help :)
     
  5. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    IF you have SYSHOST.EXE, you should examine these two links from Symantec:

    http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.francette.worm.html

    http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.sober@mm.html
     
  6. ecordle

    ecordle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Scarva
    Thanks for the advice, ;)

    I found I did have a trojan or two!!
    (Norton obviously wasn't doing it's job... as I suspected!!) :mad:
    I removed the Trojan and the file syshost.exe has gone, so thanks again for the advice which alerted me to the problem!!
    I should have sent the file to diamondcs first just to check but I guess it doesn't matter now it has gone!!!
    One more question, there was a trojan flagged in the Norton files itself, is this likely to be a false flag or a genuine trojan?? has anyone any experience of this?

    Gratefully

    Ed
     
  7. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Ed, submitting suspicious files like Gavin is asking is to see if there are possible variants or other detections added or possible, which is for the internet community as a whole.
    Certainly in cases where the one scanner does not agree with another one it's higly advisable to send them in and wheer possible with the comments you have.
    Good that you are clean and all seems to be working again.
    Zip the norton file and send it in too. You might be infected still. submit@diamondcs.com.au
    Please. thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.