Does Spybot still cause major firefox slowdown with the immunization???

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cheater87, Oct 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I'm going to trim down some of my anti spyware programs. I'm thinking of adding Spybot but I remembered that it slows Firefox down. Has this been fixed yeto_O
     
  2. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I don't know. I had to get rid of it after having had since its inception. I too would like to know if that is fixed.
     
  3. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
  4. GrailVanGogh

    GrailVanGogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US
    I am using the latest version of Spybot and Fx v2.0.0.8 is working fine.

    You know you can always uncheck the Fx elements in Spybot/Immunization Options if you think it may cause an issue.
     
  5. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    It never did slow down firefox for me. o_O I've got teatimer, bad download blocker, and immunizations all active.
     
  6. GrailVanGogh

    GrailVanGogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    US
    Seeing how you have used Spybot before you should know that you can disable any element of Immunization that you want.

    Test it in your VM and see if it causes any issues. Is not that what the VM is for as you claim?
     
  7. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    The poster wants to know about adding Spybot but is reducing spyware removers.

    :isay: I would not add Spybot.
     
  8. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I got rid of A squared and superantispyware. I decided to not get Spybot.
     
  9. clambermatic

    clambermatic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Posts:
    216
    Am using FFox 2.00.8 and my SpyBot was bolted on since FFox v1.5.... nevah got any problems, folks. But after v2.002, it seems FFox seems to run as fast as when SpyBot wasn't included.

    No other particular issues of freezing either.

    Re: Mercurie's <<
    You maybe indicating about "AdAware"... that app has a deteriorating 'reliability' issues for the past 11months, as far as i can recall. There's been a lot of complain.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.