Does Proxomitron need cleaning up after ?

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by eyes-open, Oct 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eyes-open

    eyes-open Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    721
    Just wondered if Proxomitron keeps its own logs/caches of visited URL's etc, within its folder or if it uses its host browser (in my case Firefox) to store any cached files.

    I ask because having just installed Proxomitron to play with, I noted somewhere it said that it caches visited sites for speedier reloading on subsequent visits.

    I don't recall it being more specific than that. When I read it I assumed there would be a file/folder within the program folder that I might need to clean or at least limit the size of. I've not identified such a file/folder tho'.

    I would appreciate any guidance to general housekeeping from those that use Proxomitron regularly.

    Thanks for reading :cool:
     
  2. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
    I've been using Proxomitron for 3 years now, and I've never needed to clean out anything. (Well, of course the weekly browser cache cleanser) Some configuration sets may save log files, but if they do, it's usually in a folder named "Logs" or "Temp" in the Proxomitron directory.

    I hope this helps ;)
     
  3. eyes-open

    eyes-open Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    721
    Cheers Kye-U

    I'd been through a few FAQ's and guides that described some of how Proxomitron related to browser caches. I'm just happier not making assumptions and double checking that I haven't inadvertently created a new log to manage.

    Nice thing about this place is that there is always someone willing to take time and offer help & advice.

    Many thanks :)
     
  4. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    If it keeps any cached files it would be in the browser cache. I have 0 browser cache for Fx so it is not storing any cached files in my Fx cache. :D I've been using Proxo for almost four years and I have never done any housecleaning for it. I used to have Fx and Mozilla set to fairly large caches also. But it makes little sense to keep a cache if you have 5ms down speed. Caches are for dialup and slower broadband IMO.
     
  5. foxdodger

    foxdodger Guest

    I suppose if you are a privacy nut, proxomitron can reveal quite a few details about your browsing if someone has access to your hard-disk. But no more so than a browser anyway.
     
  6. eyes-open

    eyes-open Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    721
    Maybe I'm wrong but I think a lot of people who come here are like me. Security levels are pretty good. Personalised firewall rules, good layered protection etc. Put together in such a way that doesn't cripple but does mean your machine is yours and not someone elses bot. Together with good back up on external hdds for recovery purposes. From most practical purposes its a sort of security plateau from which it then becomes a little safer to add to the sum total of knowledge through more experimentation.

    Some programs then aren't necessarily an end in themselves, they are a learning tool, or even toy. Its not just about 'having' Proxomitron on your system because its fear driven (with Firefox, Adblock, Noscript etc - it isn't much of an increase security wise for most surfing). It's about seeing how it interacts. Following the different links that reference definitions and reading about why folks think one is better than the other.

    Part of that process of installing such a program ideally begins with Reading the Manual, which I really didn't take the time to do properly yesterday. The key thing being to ensure that you haven't weakened the systems you have and that you still understand how to keep your local machine tamed.

    I think once you know that you can take some basic steps to make it more difficult for someone to abuse your information - to do so doesn't make you a privacy nut - just sensible.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.