Does Paragon Backup Include A Bootable Drive?

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by schwine, Apr 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. schwine

    schwine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Re: Backup & Recovery 10 Suite for Windows 7.

    Does this software include a bootable drive within the backup, so that I can boot into a separate hard disc and view a disk image of, in my case, Windows 7? This is a useful feature offered by SuperDuper for Mac users.

    Thanks.
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    You can make a bootable backup capsule - if that's what you mean.
     
  3. schwine

    schwine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Yes, I mean a separate bootable disc that exists on another physical hard drive in the form of a disc image. Maybe Paragon refers to a disc image as a backup capsule. A disc image is like a snapshot of Windows that gets saved on a second physical hard drive that is separate from the hard drive on which the original installation of Windows exists. This is handy when the original version of Windows has become damaged for some reason, after which you can restart the computer and boot into the disc image of Windows and restore the original version of Windows with the disc image.

    If Paragon Backup & Recovery 10 Suite can do that it's good software.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Backup capsule is simply a hidden partition made for storing images.

    To create a system recovery boot, go to Paragon B & R > Manage Backup Console > Change system recovery options.
     
  5. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    Are you saying that one could create a Backup Capsule which is just a Image on a external drive and boot from that? I thought that's only possible with a Copy not an Image.
     
  6. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    The backup capsule will contain your backup images and a bootable version of the Paragon app.

    Boot it up - paragon starts - use the restore wizard to select the image you want to restore and where you want to restore it to.

    Simple.

    It is accessible from F1 key at pc startup.
     
  7. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    I see. Thanks!
     
  8. schwine

    schwine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    I would prefer it if I could access a separate bootable version of Windows itself instead of a bootable version of the Paragon app. after restarting the computer.
    But I see how Paragon restores Windows as compared to SuperDuper, for example, which allows a user to boot into a separate disc image of the OS itself as stored on an external drive, for example.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011
  9. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Sorry , none of us have the remotest idea what super duper is.

    If you are talking about a clone ( as opposed to an image ) - then yes, Paragon can make a clone for you on another HD.

    However, if you mean an image:

    You can't restore an image using just Windows - or just a small bootable version of Windows.

    Windows itself is not capable of that.

    You need to use Paragon to restore a Paragon Image.

    The same is true of all other imaging applications from all other companies.

    If you want a bootable version of windows including Paragon, you can do that easily.

    You need the paragon winpe media, which only comes with the paid version ( or make a winpe 3 media yourself and put paragon app in it ).

    Any or all of these will work fine :

    1. Put the paragon winpe 3 iso on a partition and add a boot from iso entry using Easybcd2.

    2. Or Put the boot.wim from the winpe3 media onto a drive/partition, then add a winpe entry for it to your existing boot menu using bcdedit ( or Easybcd 2. it is simpler )

    3. Or use reagentc .exe to add the wim as an F key option.

    4. Or make the drive itself itself bootable, without using your existing boot menu - very simple, just copy and paste the entire contents of the bought or made paragon winpe media onto a primary partition ( even on an external HD ) and mark it active.

    ( If you haven't used Vista/7 disk management to format the partition , you need to run bootsect / nt60 partitionletter: )

    5. Simplest - let the paragon unpack and burn wizard make a bootable flash for you. ( You can download it from your account - it includes the paragon winpe iso and will burn it to cd/dvd/ or make a bootable flash for you ).


    Another option is to make a vhd - virtual Hard Drive - most paragon apps come with that capability.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011
  10. schwine

    schwine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    SIW2 - thank you for this valuable information.
    I appreciate your expertise and the range of choices available to Paragon users for backup. Sorry for bringing SuperDuper into the discussion, I appreciate that this isn't a Mac forum.

    Thanks again.
     
  11. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    You're welcome,

    LOL - no need to apologise - super duper sounds like a good app. - it's just that I wouldn't know as I don't have anything from apple.

    I try not to fall victim to clever marketing. I don't always manage to resist , but at least I try
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.