Does multi-ip banlist have bug?

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by isaiah0518, Oct 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. isaiah0518

    isaiah0518 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I download the latest plugin multiipx86.dll v1.02 and import it.
    I have the problem of inputing ip on banlist.
    example:
    I want to input ip xxx.xx.xxx.xxx.
    But I just can input xx.xx.xx.xx.
    I can't input the ip that I want to ban.

    May look n stop accept to block host name?
    It seems like that LNS doesn't have the ability now.

    Thanks for your reply.
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    I confirm it is not possible to use host names when creating rules (even through plugins).

    For the first part of your question, Phant0m will probably answer soon.
    Or maybe you can try to post here:
    http://www.mntolympus.org/phpbb2/viewforum.php?f=9

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  3. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi isaiah0518,

    It's likely an DPI Scaling problem from the default size 96 to something else .. perhaps 120DPI.

    I'll correct this and report back.


    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
  5. isaiah0518

    isaiah0518 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you, Frederic and phant0m!!

    It still doesn't work. I would just input ip xx.xx.xx.xx.
    I have a problem...
    I remove old version plugin and registry, then import Multi-IP Banlist v1.03.
    But it shows v1.02 in plugin setting information screen.
    May I not delete all old version registry?

    Do PluginMultiMAC and PluginMultiPort not release again?
    The original download links in the forum were cancled.

    Blocking host names is useful.
    Wish LNS add the ability.
    Multi-IP Banlist improves LNS.
    Compare with other firewalls, it's a little poor that one rule merely configures two ips.

    In some time, LNS lets me feel that the rule format restricts its expansion.
    It's not enough, free and convenient.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2008
  6. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi isaiah0518,

    There are couple of places to change the version string, I happen to have missed this one but still is v1.03 and you still replaced correctly.


    Your problem wasn't an DPI related one, I guess it might be Windows theme or resolution setting or front size? If you give me the Windows you running I can tell you where to-go exactly to retrieve for me some information that would help me identifying exactly what it is.


    The other plugins will be updated and brought back, cannot give an exact date though.
     
  7. isaiah0518

    isaiah0518 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2008
  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    - Font size shown in 'Display Properties' on 'Appearance' screen/tab

    - Resolution shown in 'Display Properties' on 'Settings' screen/tab

    - DPI setting shown in 'Display Properties' on 'Settings' screen/tab and in 'Advanced' area


    ... Changing to one of the Windows pre-bundled Themes .. does it permit the entire IP address length in the IPAddress box?
     
  9. isaiah0518

    isaiah0518 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6

    I have checked...It's maybe an DPI Scaling problem.
    I could input the entire IP address length with windows default or visual style theme after changing default size 96 to 120DPI.
    I use Multi-IP Banlist v1.03. The problem of DPI still exists with v1.03.

    Thank you, phant0m!!
     

    Attached Files:

    • ap.JPG
      ap.JPG
      File size:
      35.8 KB
      Views:
      399
    • re.JPG
      re.JPG
      File size:
      81 KB
      Views:
      4
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2008
  10. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
  11. isaiah0518

    isaiah0518 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I redownload Multi-IP Banlist v1.03.
    (It shows PluginMultiPort v1.01.)

    I retry it and still don't input the entire IP address length.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2008
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    My bad..! fixed.
     
  13. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Have an Window capture I can look at with it showing the problem?
     
  14. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    I made yet another update, the version string remains the same.



    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
  15. isaiah0518

    isaiah0518 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Use visual style theme.
    These are screenshots of 96 DPI and 120 DPI.
    I can input the entire IP address length in 120 DPI, but I can't do it in 96 DPI.
    Would you need the other information screenshots?

    We know that we can edit hosts then block host names.
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    Is it impossible to create any plugins like this?
    I mean about making certain applications which connect to the filterable hosts direct to localhost 127.0.0.1.
    Thanks~!!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 96.JPG
      96.JPG
      File size:
      91.3 KB
      Views:
      4
    • 120.JPG
      120.JPG
      File size:
      93.7 KB
      Views:
      4
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
  16. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi,

    So far this doesn't appear to be systematic, I'll revisit this when there's another report or when I have some more time to investigate further.



    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     
  17. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi isaiah0518,

    Few days ago I had released version 1.04 of my Multi-IP Banlist plugin (http://www.mntolympus.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=38) for the Look 'n' Stop community;

    Changes:
    • - Increased number of IP addresses that can be blocked (upto 45 now with an single rule).
    • - Visual Enhancements


    .. This may correct the problem you had experienced, but if it doesn't let me know.


    ... Regarding your question about blocking host names, no it's not impossible to have an plugin use the hosts file to block named addresses... Do you suppose a plugin like this could be beneficial to the Look 'n' Stop community? I know that blocking dynamic host addresses would be pointless, but anything static it would be useful for.



    Regards,
    Phant0m``
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.