Does DD10 work?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by chasingmytail, Jan 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chasingmytail

    chasingmytail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Can I install multiple independant versions of the same OS on the first HD without getting a degree in programming first? I just want to have a setup that allows me to have, for example, a work OS, a general OS and a test OS in the first three primary partitions that wont interact with each other. Lots and lots of time was spent with the manuals for previous versions, lots and lots of time in this forum, and the result was always negative, and very very time consuming. True Image is a mrvellous piece of kit, and I want to believe that DD is as well, but!
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chasingmytail,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Could you please clarify what exact issues you have experienced?

    Please describe it in details. What step-by-step actions have you performed before the problem appeared? What error messages have you received, if any?

    Could you please also let us know the build number of the product, which you can find in the Help -> About dialog (it should be a 4 digit number)?

    We will do our best to help you to resolve your issue.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  3. chasingmytail

    chasingmytail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    I cant rmember which version of version 8 I was trying. Basically I wanted to have three independant XP's on my first HD for use and testing etc. I seemed to have them, using NTFS, but when i added my utilities, Norton AV, Internet Security, System works they all seemed to be seeing the other partitions and refusing to update. My system has 6 HD's, and the distribution allocated specific logical partitions to specific OS's. DD worked just fine, all the problems seemed to be with OS selector and hiding the other OS's from each other. On occasion a complete OS would vanish, sometimes an extra icon for an OS would appear on restart(after a new installation, eg. XP#2) and only by trying to boot from the old, which did not work, then a new unnamed OS icon, which did work, but I had to figure out which one of the OS's I was into, did it by using different passwords. Norton was only installed when three OS's were inplace, not as each was installed. I saw various methods, alleged to work in this forum, but I'm afraid i had lost patience and given up for the time being. I know there are issues with 2000 and XP and NTFS, nut FAT32 has too many restrictions for me to use, unless, a thought, I had the first installation as 32 and the rest as NTFS, I'm starting to reach for straws again. I really would love your system to work-out of the box-as it could be deployed to some significant advantage within my company.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chasingmytail,

    Could you please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post? This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach the collected report file to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  5. JonathanL

    JonathanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Why does everyone have to work out how to replicate XP partitions that worko_O?

    Either the software should do it for you, or there should be clear instructions as to "Best practice".

    I would have thought most people would initially just want to resize partitions, then next either migrate XP to a bigger disk/better PC and then setup test XP partitions that are based on their master XP version.

    All of these scenarios must have been tested by the QA department, one hopes.

    The answer should not depend on version etc
     
  6. JonathanL

    JonathanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I have just found Chapter 8. Installing and using several operating systems on a single PC in the disk director pdf.

    However,

    1: There is no reference to any of this in the help file

    2: There is no reference to this in the FAQ on the Acronis web site
    and it assumes every thing works just fine.............
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JonathanL,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Please be aware that all the help topics are dedicated to describe the usage of Acronis OS Selector and not to describe how to install separate operating systems.

    The chapter 8 of Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 User's Guide just provides some common instructions for some of the most typical situations related to adding a second OS to a PC that already has one installed.

    Please also be aware that peculiarities of some operating systems may place additional limitations and/or require additional actions. That is why this information is not included into the help topics.

    Please note that when the problem is complicated it is much easier and faster to solve it via e-mail because this way gives you much more opportunities to get diagnostic info that our Development Team needs to help you with the solution. When the issue is known or doesn't need any diagnostic info to be sent we always try to solve the problem here without having to contact Acronis Support Team.

    The main thing is that the same issue can be resulted from different reasons. This means that each time we need diagnostic info of the particular customer who has this issue.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  8. JonathanL

    JonathanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    PLease correct me if I am wrong, but the functionality of Migrate Easy 7.0 is contained within the Disk Director 10 Suite.

    If so, "Quickly and easily deploy a new hard disk on your PC or laptop — migrate all data, operating systems, programs, and everything else automatically! re http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/migrateeasy/".

    I would repeat my statement earlier that

    "I would have thought most people would initially just want to resize partitions, then next either migrate XP to a bigger disk/better PC and then setup test XP partitions that are based on their master XP version".

    To say that to try it and then email technical support is not very encouraging.
    I believe the software to be very good, but you should give more guidance on how to create a second copy of an XP O/S on either the same disk or a newer disk, as I believe a substantial number of your users will want to do this. If the Software cannot do this in some cases, then you should say so.


    Regarding your comment via email support, whilst I recognise support does cost money, I have tried this and have after several emails received...

    "I'm afraid, but we do not provide free phone support at the moment, however it probably will be implemented in the future. Moreover, most of the technical problems are much easier to resolve through e-mail, because the process usually includes some instructions how to obtain certain files, create logs, etc. However, if you wish to resolve your problem via phone anyway, please follow the link http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/ and purchase Per-Incident Support for $29.99." Others may find this link useful.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello JonathanL,

    Please be aware that the functionality of Acronis Migrate Easy 7.0 is not included into Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0. There are some differences between their functionality.

    Acronis Migrate Easy 7.0 creates an exact copy (clone) of a hard drive instead Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 copies a partition, it does not allow you to clone an entire hard drive.

    If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  10. chasingmytail

    chasingmytail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    Oh, how fascinating, it's read the small print time, but wait, there is no small print. DD works just fine, but OS selector, well, back to the origonal message I posted, or am i trying to do something that just can't be done, if so why not say so, or at least give some guidelines, in print, that don't involve raking through this very interesting forum and its many many queries on how to get the thing to do what it says on the tin. I don't want to migrate my OS, or copy it, I want seperate installations in seperate primary partitions that don't know about each other, simple request, seems like it should be possible when I read the blurb on the site, but here I am again, with all the others asking questions. Ah well, time for bed.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chasingmytail,

    Please be aware that all the instructions that one needs to know regarding installation of several operating systems onto the same hard drive can be found in the chapter 8 of Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 User's Guide.

    We need some diagnostic information to investigate your particular issue, so please create a report as I asked in one of my posts above and submit a request having attached this report.

    We will investigate the issue and will do our best to help you to resolve it.

    In case you have already sent a request please let me know your case # which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter. I will find out how the investigation of your issue is going.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  12. HFE

    HFE Guest

    edit the boot.ini

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional 1" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional 2" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional 3" /fastdetect
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.