Does Comodo firewall use much CPU?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by I must be saved, Apr 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I must be saved

    I must be saved Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi. Does Comodo firewall use much CPU when it is running in the background? I am thinking about getting it but I was concerned about how much it would impact on my computer's resources. I have also heard some great things being said about it. Are these true? Thanks.
     
  2. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    Yes it is true, comodo runs very smooth and light, but there are some reports that it runs heavy, but I say try it yourself, it's a professional firewall and free!
     
  3. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hello I must be saved :)

    The only case when I saw any excessive CPU usage by Comodo is when using file sharing (P2P). And this was not regular, but only occasionally, I believe the more connections are established, the more the CPU was utilized. There was a suggestion to turn off DLL injections in Comodo, which indeed solved the issue for me. But beware, by doing this, you are severely impacting Comodo's ability to cope with those leaktests, a feature which gave Comodo it's fame.
    Regarding your question from the other thread you started about BSODs, I had a few such cases on one of my machines (but not on the others) when I was using one of the previous builds. As previous poster disinter1 already stated, I guess you will have to try it yourself. Get the latest build, see how it fares with you.
    And again, regarding email you entered when you downloaded Comodo, I would suggest that you join Comodo forums and ask that question directly on the source. I am not a member there, but I have been lurking for a while and I have noticed they are fairly prompt with replies. You will get your answer in no time, I am sure...

    My regards,
     
  4. I must be saved

    I must be saved Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi. Thanks for your prompt reply. I do not use a P2P program, so excess CPU usage caused by that would not be a problem for me. Also, I will join the Comodo forums so any future questions I will ask there. I just had a look on the internet and i found that they just send a registration code to you so you can use the prog. for free forever. A user review of CF showed that that appears to be the only use for the email adress given to the program. Thanks for your help,
    I must be saved;) :thumb:
     
  5. philebus

    philebus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi, I use p2p all the time and I find that it doesn't cause comodo to increase cpu usage. Comodo does, however, log quite a bit of scary activity (which it calls 'high seveity alerts') but nothing EVER seems to get through the firewall. Hence my scans with NOD and AVG anti-spyware never show any maleware.

    It is certainly the best, and most stable firewall I have ever used.
     
  6. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hello philebus. :)

    Well, I was just explaining my personal experience. Of course, it doesn't have to reflect on every setup, as is the case with most security software. BTW, what are those 'high severity alerts' you are getting in your logs? Perhaps blocked inbound connections on your forwarded router port?
     
  7. halcyon

    halcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Posts:
    373
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.