Does Chrome get the latest page of a webpage automatically?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by berryracer, Jul 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    One of the things I hated about Firefox is that there is not straightforward method to tell the browser to always refresh/get the latest version of a page without going to about:config

    Typing: browser.cache.check_doc_frequency

    Then setting the value to 1


    Now I got sick of Firefox having intermittent crashes due to a bug with its Flash Player and I tried Chrome and liked the fact that it is much snappier browsing websites...

    so Im keeping Chrome

    But my question is...

    does Chrome automatically grab the latest version of a web page?

    Let's say I am on MajorGeeks.com do I have to press CTRL + F5 to do hard refresh everytime I visit the page or does Chrome do that automatically to deliver the latest contecnt? I need this feature as it is vital especially when browsing Forums to get the latest content

    I dont know how Chrome acts by default and if it doesnt automatically get the latest version of a page...what and how to change the setting?

    I like how in IE it is so simple to do this by going to Internet Properties and choosing always get latest version of a page upon every visit...done!!
     
  2. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Chrome uses a cache just like Firefox but it forces a repaint on every refresh (hence the white flash bug.) So, yes.
     
  3. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I see.

    PS: What white flash bug?
     
  4. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Due to repainting every time you reload there's occasionally a "white flash" where you only see the default background. It's not always noticeable.
     
  5. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Ah ok, I never noticed it but Im glad Chrome acts right by default and gets the latest version of a page when you visit it

    cheers pro
     
  6. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.