Does anyone use Opera?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by jayt, Oct 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    I just started using the Opera browser recently (and infrequently). I have noticed that when downloading files (avi's, mpeg, etc) the indicator for IMON does not pop up and run like it does with IE and Firefox. Has anyone else noticed this? And does this mean that IMON does not check the HTTP files when using Opera?
     
  2. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    Jayt,

    Opera and NOD work well together.
    I am using Opera (95%) with FF the rest, and can see that all my files are being scanned. Sometimes this slows down loading of webpages but I am rather safe than sorry.
    Are you using blackspear's settings? Have you checked whether the files appear in IMON as scanned? I don't always get a popup, I think that depends on the size of the file.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Couldn't it be that you have activated the option for switching to HC mode for large files (by default set for files larger than 2 MB)
     
  4. luvhirez

    luvhirez Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi,
    Yes i use opera, and it works ok for me, I see the pop up at the bottom right. Just remember to change the client compatablity in IMON to higher efficiency when you install it.:)
    I actually check the client compatability every so often and change all to higher efficiency. I havent had a problem with that yet.
     
  5. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Yup, no issues here, all done with FF.
     
  6. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Thanks for all the replies. Maybe I did not make myself clear in my original post. I use Opera -Firefox- and IE (when I have to). In FF and IE IMON pops up and runs when downloading a file like it is supposed to. So, the settings for Nod32 are correct. I do know that Opera uses a different kind of downloader (called a transfer rather than a downloader). At any rate IMON does not pop up when downloading a file (no matter what the size) with Opera. Probably just a peculiarity of my setup, but I was curious.
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It doesnt pop up in opera for me either....
     
  8. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    Thanks Firecat. Nice to know I am not alone. :)
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    It seems Opera is displayed on top sometimes, superimposing IMON's pop-up windows. Usually it's enough to click the "Show desktop" icon and then switch back to Opera.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.