Does anyone use a WD "PassPort"?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by starsfan09, Jun 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    I'm considering getting the 120gb WD "Passport" to put all my Backups on. Since it's powered by the USB bus, and requires no extra power supply, and spins at 5400rpm,
    I was just wondering if anyone here has ever used one before with Acronis to make Full Back-up's, and Restoring.

    If you do use one, do you have any problems with it? Does the Boot-CD recognize it in the menu? :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • WD.png
      WD.png
      File size:
      100.7 KB
      Views:
      111
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2006
  2. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Yep. I have one hooked up to my Dell E1505 laptop now.

    I've successfully performed restores from ATI images, FD-ISR archives, and from IFW/IFD images.

    These weren't disasters, of course, I purposely did them to confirm they worked after I got my Dell Utility and Dell Restore partitions removed and verified I would be able to restore them and get my laptop back to an "out of the box" state.

    The ATI Boot CD picked it up fine on my system. EDIT: Correction, I actually made a boot rescue DVD+RW which I booted from and it picked up my WD Passport 120 OK.

    I hate to say this, starsfan09, but there's no guarantee you'll have the same luck as me. But, anyways, there's one data point for you at least.
     
  3. starsfan09

    starsfan09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Posts:
    352
    Thanks Croft for the reply.

    After I posted this question, I decided to test a 1gb PNY memory stick.
    I put the Boot-CD in and rebooted the computer. The Acronis menu came up, and I checked in the Back-up and Restore areas to see if it would pick up this little ol' memory stick. It DID! (just to be sure I checked the memory stick, and was able to read my files and folders on it.) :D *puppy*
     
  4. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    :thumb: I'd say that's an encouraging sign !
     
  5. novak614

    novak614 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    I've been using one (80GB) for several months, no problems at all.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    I have one that I use on numerous systems. No problem.
     
  7. doxtr111

    doxtr111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Yes, been using one for at least a year. Works like a charm.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.