does anyone here have a NAT Router?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iceni60, May 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    hi, i'm going to buy a router but it seems alot of them are wireless, i don't use wireless. if i get a wireless router can i disable the wireless bit and just use wires instead? thanks.

    can anyone recommend a router i can buy?
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Plenty of hard wired only routers available. Linksys are generally my hardware of choice. And yes, most routers can have their wirelss ability disabled through the User interface.
     
  3. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    thanks, ThunderZ. i was thinking of getting a Linksys WRT54G or WRT54GL because they come with Linux installed so you can upgrade and hack them. the thing is they are wireless. it's not a big problem but do you think the wireless can be disabled?
    http://images.google.co.uk/images?hl=en&q=linksys wrt54g
     
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
  5. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    I have a WRT54G and it is a great low cost router. I have thibor's firmware, so it now has the same boost speed as the speedbooster :cool:

    To get a linux running version, either look for a WRT54G v4 or lower, or look for a WRT54GL(the L stands for linux)

    DO NOT get v5, it runs on another firmware which is not nearly as good, or customizable, and the unit ships with less ram and processing power.

    For firmware, check out thibors, openwrt(if you are good with command line), and DDWRT.

    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
  6. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,702
    Location:
    Texas
  7. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    I run the WRT54G with wireless. WPA is enabled using a 63 random generated key. The network is visible to "drive-byes"....but would take a long concentrated effort to crack. Go to the Linksys site> http://tinyurl.com/phvut. Pick your product(s) from the drop down and then download the manual in PDF. Should help you make your decision
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.