Does 2wire modem/router firewall is better than ZoneAlarm?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Beginner, Nov 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beginner

    Beginner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Hello everyone ;)
    I have a new 2WIRE modem/router and i found than i'm behind an internal firewall from the modem.
    I have some programs than i need to allow to connect to the internet on the firewall, if not, they could not connect to the internet.
    Anyway, this firewall is different than the firewall of Zonealarm than i used a lot of time.
    So i got some questions, hope than you can help me :)

    1) How this firewall works? It's block all accesses from the Internet to my computer? Or than this have a list of "secure" programs than the firewall allow to connect?
    2) Does this firewall blocks all unwanted accesses from my computer to the Internet? or only from the internet to my computer?
    3)Can i disactivate this firewall all? and install another one (ZoneAlarm) how i can disactivate the firewall? Does the other firewall and the 2wire firewall will not "crash" one each-other?

    I have Windows XP, Modem/router 2WIRE 3.5.7

    Thanks a lot to all :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2004
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi Beginner

    Your modem/router will be using NAT (Network Address Translation) and by virtue of how it works, will protect systems connected to it from unsolicited inbound traffic from the Internet.

    NAT allows all outbound connections. If you wish to have control over Network/Internet access for applications you run on systems connected to the router, you will need to run a software firewall on those systems.

    There should be no conflict between the router and the software firewall run on systems.

    An explanation of NAT: How NAT Works

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    To further that, the modem/router is it's own computer, just not a PC. It's having 2 different firewalls on the SAME computer that creates a problem. You will want both, the modem/router will stop incomming connections, ZoneAlarm (or whatever software firewall you choose to install) will handle anything that goes out (filtering your programs and any trojans/malware.)
     
  4. Beginner

    Beginner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Thanks a lot for your answers, so can i install ZoneAlrm only on my computer to work only on my computer and not in the another computer?
    I mean, can i install zone alrm and configure the firewall to wotk only with the outcoming connections from my computer to the intenet? and still use the NAT firewall to control the connections from the internet to my PC?

    It will not affect the internet connection?

    Thanks a lot!!
     
  5. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    You can install Zone Alarm on any/all system(s) behind the router. It will allow you to control which applications are allowed access. ZA will still block inbounds, but will not see any from the Internet because of the router (it will block these).

    Running ZA on your systems behind the router should not affect your connection.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  6. Beginner

    Beginner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Thanks a lot, you mean than if i install ZA it will still try to control the connections than enter to my computer, but will not do nothing with that becouse the 2WIRE FW block/control those connections right?

    So i will only get messages to allow/don't allow the programs than try to connect my computer to the Internet(like Spyblaster updates, the program connect from my PC to her server and download the updates) right?

    It's possible to configure ZA to work only with out-connections (from my PC to the internet)
    How can i do that?

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  7. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    ZA will still work as a regular firewall, but with the router blocking the unsolicited inbound packets first, ZA will not have to deal with or see these.

    Right, ZA will alert to programs making network connections and prompt you to allow or deny.

    No, I do not believe it is possible to do that with ZA.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  8. Beginner

    Beginner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    45
    Thank you very much!! you help me a lot :))
    I will download now ZA from download.com and install..
    I hope it will works well :)

    Thanks an have a great weekend!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.