Doctor Web, Ltd. launches beta-testing of a new generation anti-virus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Honyak, Dec 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    its not just that, when scanning drweb never ever goes over 50% cpu on my machine, so this is a factor, however kaspersky constantly uses 99% cpu when scanning and doesnt allow you to do anything else. :D
     
  2. Miyagi

    Miyagi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    424
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Did anyone detect anything new with the .Origin extension? So far, I am seeing the detected files as FP's.
     
  3. Littlemutt

    Littlemutt Guest

    DrWeb maxed my CPU at 99% for the entire 9+ hrs. :(

    Even 4hrs as far as I'm concerned is unacceptable. Its becoming clearer to me at least, why Norton stays to 'popular', it just works.....
     
  4. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    Actually, the lightness of an av is nowadays one of the most important things, what the old good doctor misses, I'm pretty sure that Cyberhawk picks that nasty afterwards. :D So, the total conclusion. You just can't say how good your av is, the more important is that how light is your TOTAL PROTECTION.

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  5. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont

    Ouch! Dr Web is a slow scanner to be certain. But I think you can lay some of the blame for that scan speed on that old processor having to carry the XP operating system also. Further, this was change wasn't intended to boost scan speed, I think you will have to wait for version 5 for that.
     
  6. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    There isn't such as a slow scanner, but there is scanners that can scan more. ;)

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  7. shorty1

    shorty1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Vermont
    When I look at my taskbar, just to left of the time/date, I see a little green spider. :D
     
  8. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    Just a curious, but my number of defs has dropped a bit with this new Beta. Can someone tell the number of defs just now, Please?

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    160973
     
  10. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yep thats correct,

    please note i was told This is neither error nor mistake. Before new version released the virus bases are being compressed to exclude doubled records or to replace some records with single one, hence the slightly lower signature amount.
     
  11. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    i wanna know if you guys are having any serious problems with the beta? coz i wanna try it too
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    no difference at all,

    runs the same and apparently has this added technology into the detection.
     
  13. Londonbeat

    Londonbeat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    350
    Does the beta have a completely new heuristic engine as well as the standard signatures, or does this new technology work together with the existing heuristic?

    Londonbeat
     
  14. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    the only information i have is what was sent to me in my email, exactly what the original poster posted in #1

    if you understand it, or someone does... please enlighten us all.
     
  15. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,856
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    i would say together
     
  16. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    No problems at all.
     
  17. raman

    raman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Posts:
    10
    Due to the results i get, i would say it is a new Variant detection and now it unpacks much more installerSFX Archives like INNO.
    And it crashes on more files.
     
  18. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    it doesnt crash at all, although it does unpack more.... seems to be alot more, but aint sure.
     
  19. Londonbeat

    Londonbeat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    350
    Thanks for info :)

    Londonbeat
     
  20. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    fine,i'll try today..
     
  21. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,856
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    i sent today to drweb 2 files where it crashes (there are probably more files where this happens) but i guess this happens also with the previous version and is not due the new engine
     
  22. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    well its never crashed on me, sometimes it takes longer to scan files... particually temp files, but never crashed, and i aint a completly safe-surfer.
     
  23. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    98031
    One thing I am glad they fixed was the hanging while applying updates after every auto update, that was annoying.
     
  24. raman

    raman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Posts:
    10
    I do have 5 files which Drweb crashes and some files Drweb seems to hang in a loop, but thats not unusual for a beta. I send them the files so they will fix it in the release Version, i hope.

    It finds some more Files with the ".origin" detection. Some of them are false alarms:

    D:\temp\$PFEDS32.EXE infected with Trojan.Popuper.origin
    D:\temp\Misc.dll infected with Win32.HLLW.Gavir.origin
    D:\temp\RUNNER32.DLL infected with Trojan.DnsChange.origin

    some of them aren´t:

    D:\temp\TSUNINST.EXE is adware program Adware.TimeSink.origin
    E:\temp\rl3r5.exe\data039\SaveUninst.exe is adware program Adware.SaveNow.origin
     
  25. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    ive only had an av crash on me once and that was just on one file with f-secure
    no idea why it did crash on a safe installer thou.
    but what counts is how quickly a company fixes the problem
    and it seems that drweb are generally fast on fixing problems.
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.