Do you use the MVPS Hosts File?

Discussion in 'polls' started by berryracer, Jun 21, 2012.

?

Do you use the MVPS Hosts File?

  1. Yes

    36.9%
  2. No

    63.1%
  1. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Download

    I use the MVPS Hosts file to block ads from loading in my web browser and also block malicious sites! I highly recommend it
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't nor any other one.
     
  3. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    Nope. I do use my hosts file to map IP address to hostnames used on my network.
     
  4. guest

    guest Guest

    No, it gave me compatibility issues with legitimate sites (blocked them).
     
  5. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    As far as malicious sites are concerned I don't use any host file for the simple reason domains and IP addresses change rapidly so not worth trying to keep up with them.
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    No, I use a hosts file for what it's supposed to be used for, and I use an ad blocker for what it's supposed to be used for, which does a far better job.
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I've used one before and felt it was too much trouble to maintain... the end didn't justify the means, so to speak. :)
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    For me it takes too much time and trouble to maintain and fine tune to keep from messing up your normal visited sites. I have instead come to love using Ad Muncher to do all of my ad blocking.
     
  9. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    No, no hosts file here. Been using them years ago, but maintaining them is too much trouble.
     
  10. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    854
    Used to, but rely more on the Malware Domains list in Adblock Plus, and the IP Blocking of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Pro.

    I could never figure out how to get HostsMan to update automagically in Windows 7, and in the end couldn't be bothered.

    I found HOSTS lists gave too many FPs and wasn't worth even the minor hassle of manually updating.
     
  11. carat

    carat Guest

    +1 :(
     
  12. woomera

    woomera Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    211
    use to have peerblock installed for this purpose but then their lists became commercial and dropped it. never used mvps before but gonna give it a try.
     
  13. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    MVPS only updates once every 2 months so its easy to maintain
     
  14. Ranget

    Ranget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    Not Really Sure :/
    i don't like it it's an old way of protection
     
  15. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,709
    No. I don't.
     
  16. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Have heard of it before but have never used it. :D
     
  17. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Voted no. I used it a long time ago with a software called Hostsman.
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    USA
    At one time I did. At this point I just consider it more trouble than it is worth.
     
  19. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Nope I don't.
     
  20. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,129
    Location:
    USA
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    No, I use someonewhocares HOSTS. MVPS HOSTS is used by ScriptSafe's "Block Unwanted Content" though.
     
  22. guest

    guest Guest

    Same with J_L, I don't use the HOSTS file but it's being used by ScriptSafe, which I'm currently using.
     
  23. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    894
    I don't need it.
     
  24. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    Location:
    EU
    for ad blocking i use Ad Muncher, for protection against malicious links/domains there is the browser and antivirus protection. so, no need for MVPS or alikes.
     
Loading...