Do you use the add-on Classic Theme Restorer for Firefox ?

Discussion in 'polls' started by SweX, Jun 10, 2015.

?

Do you use the add-on Classic Theme Restorer for Firefox ?

  1. Yes

    19 vote(s)
    54.3%
  2. No

    16 vote(s)
    45.7%
  1. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Do you have the Classic Theme Restorer add-on installed in your browser ?
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
  2. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,129
    It's indispensable.
     
  3. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,018
    No, I don't.
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Are you kidding? Without it, I would have to dump Firefox. I do think it has too many options.
     
  5. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,129
    There isn't such thing as too many options.
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Great addon. I use it for:

    1. To set tabs not on top.
    2. To open bookmarks on the left side of the browser as a sidebar, with one click
    3. To get the add on bar back
    4. To place the bookmark star in the URL bar
    5. To get rid of the Firefox orange button
    6. To get rid of the Customize button
    7. To get rid of Hello, Pocket and Reader but that can also be done in about:config
    8. To get rid of the X in tabs, so I don't close any by mistake:D

    Bo
     
  7. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,129
    I use it for:

    Squared tabs
    Change the colour of the FF button
    Small buttons on navigation toolbar
    Movable back-forward buttons
    White colour for tab separators
    To get rid of the new search ui, calling and conversation features, reader mode and pocket
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    Yes, to get rid of Australis, together with Status-4-Evar, after they killed the Status Bar and later the replacement Add-on Bar as well.
     
  9. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    No. I am adapting to Firefox. I found two these Add-ons that give me back a Status Bar, an improved with more features Status Bar and put tabs were I like them.

    - Puzzle Toolbars
    Piece together all of your add-on buttons and extras into your browser window in exactly the way you want them!
    - Tabs on Bottom
    Applies "Tabs on Bottom" appearance.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I disagree, sometimes it can be a bit overwhelming. But it also depends on the app, sometimes less is more, even when it comes to security software.
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    There seems to be a race to the bottom to develop a dumb browser for the lowest common denominator. Google Chrome started this crap.
    I guess it is a win/win situation for the dummies.
     
  12. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    494
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    Yes.
    For all the reasons bo elam mentions ..... and to keep Australis at bay !
     
  13. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Yes.

    While some of what people like can be done via about:config or by editing stylesheets, CTR is invaluable in "unlocking" certain items of the interface that the Australis devs decided to make unmovable (without the use of extensions). For example, I like to have the url bar and tabs in one row to save vertical space. Before Australis, I could go into "Customize" and drag the url bar about. With Australis (and without CTR) one can still drag the url bar but it just slides back.
     
  14. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    Yes...I agree that it's indispensable!
     
  15. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    483
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    Not here.
     
  16. Kobayashi maru

    Kobayashi maru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Drivin' all night my hands wet on the wheel....
    Yes.
    Australis gave you the freedom of expression, by removing the means to display it. I resisted for a long time. Now I'm back.

    I also use Classic toolbar buttons.
     
Loading...