Do you use SSD in your Laptops and Desktops?

Discussion in 'polls' started by ams963, Jun 8, 2012.

?

Do you use SSD in your Laptops and Desktops?

  1. Yes - Internal drive

    57.9%
  2. Yes - External portable drive

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Yes - Both internal and external portable drives

    2.6%
  4. No - it's just too expensive.

    15.8%
  5. No - it's very small storage compared to the price of HDD.

    21.1%
  6. No - I use whatever comes with my laptops and SSD are pretty rare still now in Laptops.

    15.8%
  7. Never hear of it.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Hi,

    Do you use Solid State Drives in your Laptops and Desktops?(I do not know if they are available for tablets yet).

    Best Wishes,
    ams963
     
  2. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Where's the POLL?

    and yes I use 1 SSDs on my laptop

    1) Kingston KC100 120 GB SATA III SSD
    2) mSATA Toshiba 64 GB SSD SATA II

    After using SSD, you feel the world is moving in slow motion if you use a computer with an HDD

    SSDs are the future of computers
     
  3. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Yes, in both laptops and desktops.

    One of my laptop had two hard drive each one 500GB. I replaced the main hard drive with SSD.

    The other one had only one 500GB hard drive. So, I moved this hard drive in the DVD bay, as DVD players are no use these days. And, in the main compartment, I put the SSD.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  4. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Yep in my laptop, I don't have a desktop. I replaced my HDD with a OCZ Vertex 3 Sata III SSD drive. I put my HDD in a ODD enclosure to replace my optical drive as I don't use it.
     
  5. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    In my Lenovo W520 laptop I use an Intel 310 80GB mSATA SSD for the OS and programs and a 500GB HD for all my data.
     
  6. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    SDDs are so cheap these days, one can get 120GB SSD for less than $100.
     
  7. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    Yes, as system disk on my desktop.
    Still using HDD in my laptop.
     
  8. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    No. Very small storage compared to the price of HDD.
     
  9. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    Not yet.
     
  10. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    No - Don't need a hard drive right now.

    I am not going to replace a perfectly functional one. Perhaps when the time comes I will go with SSD.
     
  11. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    No. It's too expensive for me and being an old fart and retired, speed really isn't an issue I need to deal with. :D
     
  12. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    No, I don't really need one right now.
     
  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Only in my test box.
    Mrk
     
  14. guest

    guest Guest

    No

    not ready for prime time yet
    I wonder if they ever will be

    They need to be able to clean themselves without being coupled
    to an operation system and should not wear out or at least have
    a lifetime of 10 years or so
     
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    Too expensive for me at the moment. On two of my laptops I hae 500gb drives installed, the cost to replace them with SSDs would be expensive.

    My other laptops don't get used enough to warrant repacing the hard drives.
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Not at this time.
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    Cheap? I disagree. $100 for a 120GB SSD is not a lot of money to spend. However, for $120 I can get a 3TB desktop hard drive. Or for around $60 a 1TB notebook hard drive.
     
  18. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Canada
    Only in my desktop and, admittedly, what a waste of $$ it was; it's done nothing to noticeably increase performance, boot or otherwise. I guess if I upgrade my machine, then i'll notice a performance enhancement.
     
  19. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I was just about to buy one for my desktop machine about a year ago, when the motherboard died/fried and that was the end of that machine. So I'm glad I didn't, would have been a waste of money. Now I'm on the laptop, and probably will just keep what it came with. Not sure yet what I'll end up doing when the laptop dies... I'm hoping it'll last for at least a few more years...
     
  20. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    No but i wish i could. :D
     
Loading...