Do you use real time Anti-Virus protection?

Discussion in 'polls' started by mike21, May 17, 2010.

?

Do you use real time Anti-Virus Protection?

  1. Yes!

    232 vote(s)
    72.0%
  2. No, just on demand.

    77 vote(s)
    23.9%
  3. Yes but not always enabled.

    13 vote(s)
    4.0%
  1. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    I couldn't find my question and I am interested to see members setup. Do you use antivirus real time protection?
     
  2. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    No real time AV
    Just Firewall with HIPS
     
  3. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Me too. As my signature, with on demand scans with Dr.Web Cureit and Malwarebytes.
     
  4. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    I was using Eset . I tried many AVs .
    All of them are now resource hogs due to large signature database.
    SO i changed to HIPS . NO database . SO very light;)
    On demand scan with Hitman pro. I know No malware can bypass my sandboxed browser and HIPS.:cool:
     
  5. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    Stopped using AVs almost 5 years ago.
     
  6. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Yes..always did, always will.
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Yes and always will.:thumb:
     
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I am running Avast! AV. It runs in the back ground quietly doing its thing, so I see no reason to run without the protection. ;)
     
  9. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    Yes, I won 't turn off real time protection of my AV.
     
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe

    Real time av + HIPS/firewall, and something else. Multi-layered defense.
     
  11. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Yes....NOD32
     
  12. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    No. DefenseWall and Avira10 on demand.
     
  13. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    I have PCs that run with and others that run without.
     
  14. guest

    guest Guest

  15. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Yes.
    I'm too lazy to do an on-demand scan everytime I download something, not to mention too scatterbrained to always remember to.
     
  16. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    No. Just LUA/SRP/DEP/ACL
    a firewall with keylogger detection.
    and a system virtualization software.

    details here.

    If there's something I want to add...
    that is a program that can Block malicious access to browser windows (i.e. Prevx SafeOnline) but I lack system resources for that.
    I don't know if Sandboxie can do the task.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2010
  17. LambRador

    LambRador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Posts:
    68
    Yes, on execution (OA++).
     
  18. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Same here,:D
     
  19. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Nope!
     
  20. Melchi501

    Melchi501 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    90
    No Av... Shadow Defender :cool:
     
  21. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Depends for now I am using AV and on some other day I don't:cool:
     
  22. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    No...using DefenseWall and Avira on demand only.
     
  23. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Yes. I use Avast 5 and have it running real-time all the time.
    Plus I use PCTools Firewall Plus and Win Patrol Plus.
     
  24. progress

    progress Guest

    Yes - there is no reason to turn it off.
     
  25. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Yes. Avast free. For me there's no reason to not use it. Given the amount of times my AV (NOD/Avast) has ever catched anything in recent years there appears to be no reason to use it either :doubt: ,but it's very light so it stays.
     
Loading...