Do you use real time Anti-Virus protection?

Discussion in 'polls' started by mike21, May 17, 2010.

?

Do you use real time Anti-Virus Protection?

  1. Yes!

    232 vote(s)
    72.0%
  2. No, just on demand.

    77 vote(s)
    23.9%
  3. Yes but not always enabled.

    13 vote(s)
    4.0%
  1. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    I couldn't find my question and I am interested to see members setup. Do you use antivirus real time protection?
     
  2. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    No real time AV
    Just Firewall with HIPS
     
  3. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Me too. As my signature, with on demand scans with Dr.Web Cureit and Malwarebytes.
     
  4. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    I was using Eset . I tried many AVs .
    All of them are now resource hogs due to large signature database.
    SO i changed to HIPS . NO database . SO very light;)
    On demand scan with Hitman pro. I know No malware can bypass my sandboxed browser and HIPS.:cool:
     
  5. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    Stopped using AVs almost 5 years ago.
     
  6. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Yes..always did, always will.
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,101
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Yes and always will.:thumb:
     
  8. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I am running Avast! AV. It runs in the back ground quietly doing its thing, so I see no reason to run without the protection. ;)
     
  9. CiX

    CiX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Posts:
    404
    Yes, I won 't turn off real time protection of my AV.
     
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,880
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen

    Real time av + HIPS/firewall, and something else. Multi-layered defense.
     
  11. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Yes....NOD32
     
  12. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    No. DefenseWall and Avira10 on demand.
     
  13. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    I have PCs that run with and others that run without.
     
  14. guest

    guest Guest

  15. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Yes.
    I'm too lazy to do an on-demand scan everytime I download something, not to mention too scatterbrained to always remember to.
     
  16. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    No. Just LUA/SRP/DEP/ACL
    a firewall with keylogger detection.
    and a system virtualization software.

    details here.

    If there's something I want to add...
    that is a program that can Block malicious access to browser windows (i.e. Prevx SafeOnline) but I lack system resources for that.
    I don't know if Sandboxie can do the task.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2010
  17. LambRador

    LambRador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Posts:
    68
    Yes, on execution (OA++).
     
  18. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,684
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Same here,:D
     
  19. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    Nope!
     
  20. Melchi501

    Melchi501 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    90
    No Av... Shadow Defender :cool:
     
  21. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Depends for now I am using AV and on some other day I don't:cool:
     
  22. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    No...using DefenseWall and Avira on demand only.
     
  23. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Yes. I use Avast 5 and have it running real-time all the time.
    Plus I use PCTools Firewall Plus and Win Patrol Plus.
     
  24. progress

    progress Guest

    Yes - there is no reason to turn it off.
     
  25. Get

    Get Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Yes. Avast free. For me there's no reason to not use it. Given the amount of times my AV (NOD/Avast) has ever catched anything in recent years there appears to be no reason to use it either :doubt: ,but it's very light so it stays.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.