do you use host to block metro ads ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
  2. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,637
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Adguard does a great job filtering metro/modern apps with it's WFP network filter. You could also block at DNS level as well. I recommend Peter Lowe's list: http://pgl.yoyo.org/as/
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    hi
    thanks
    have a host files with lots of entries could slow down the surfing?
     
  4. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,637
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    You're welcome. A really large hosts file can cause some slow downs. But not if you use just one like: http://www.winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm
    That list or Peter Lowe's list wont cause slow downs. If you prefer the Hosts file route, I would recommend HostsMan (http://www.abelhadigital.com/hostsman) and HostsServer from the same site. Those make it quite easy to manage and update hosts files.
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    hi
    but does metro apps use explorer ?
    an adblocker for explorer could block the ads in the metro apps ?
    cheers
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Yes, but I had to disable DNS Client Service because my connection would lag on startup.
     
Loading...