Do you use Ghostery?

Discussion in 'polls' started by carat, Jan 8, 2012.

?

Do you use Ghostery?

  1. Yes

    97 vote(s)
    49.5%
  2. No

    99 vote(s)
    50.5%
  1. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,433
    Location:
    Philippines
    Cool! Learned something today.
     
  2. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,351
    I like to block facebook buttons and scripts with Ghostery. ;)
     
  3. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I did, but I got tired of having to pause it because it blocked something I wanted, like Best Buy reviews for example.
     
  4. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,351
    I think it's possible to whitelist sites.
     
  5. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    yes.

    just click on the little blue ghost. :p
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,127
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I also think it´s kinda weird that a company that´s selling data to advertising companies, is offering this tool, I don´t trust it. :shifty:

    I will probably also use Disconnect in the future. ;)
     
  7. FPGA 88

    FPGA 88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Posts:
    13
  8. Aura

    Aura Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Posts:
    107
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    I do use Ghostery. I need to whitelist forums that uses Gravatar often since Ghostery blocks it by default and therefore I cannot see half the avatars.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,127
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The new GUI is indeed quite unhandy, they should hire new developers! Plus it phones home when you want to change settings. Looks like Ghostery v6 is a loser. :thumbd:
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,156
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I can't even get the Settings to open on my machine. Clicking the Gear icon does nothing. How do you access Settings?
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,127
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    On FF it does work. You must click on "My Ghostery" in the right top of the screen. But this is definitely a case of dumb developers who tried to fix something that wasn't broken. It reminds me of the interface of DoNotTrackMe, too many clicks to get the job done, just how dumb can you be?

    https://www.abine.com/donottrackme.html
     
  12. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,478
    some told me that ghostery needs now some javascript for the new functions. anyhow i would consider it as futile, can be replaced with some more reliable extension. since ghostery has this opt-in setting for home calling critics are rising.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,156
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I needed to temporarily allow JavaScript to change settings.
     
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,478
    and this is blockable, however.
     
  15. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    South Park, CO
    I used it when I answered the poll but I have since quit Ghostery for being too buggy and now I use uBO instead.
     
  16. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,219
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I had Ghostery automatically update itself to version 6 on one machine. It was removed quickly after I struggled with it a bit. It didn't get to waste more than 5 minutes of my time. This is not the extension I installed and liked. Javascript and sign in accounts don't go with privacy. Kind of nice that the version for Opera 12 is no longer maintained and will always be the version I like. For some reason it is not updating in most of my Firefox installs. Might be because I mostly use the ESR version of Firefox which is currently 38. The version that updated was from a Linux distro and not the the ESR version.
     
  17. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    Likewise MisterB , I got the same auto-update ( my own fault , I guess ).

    I wrote to the Devs ( info@ghostery.com ) saying that if they don't offer a downgrade to v5.5 I will be ditching it ....
    .... no reply so far .

    Update :
    I just checked Pale Moon and it is still on v5.4.4
    Anyone know if the Chrome version has auto-updated ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2016
  18. old school

    old school Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Spain
    I have uninstalled it recently. It crashed continuously with ublock origin
     
  19. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    That is very peculiar old school , I have run them both for years in FF and Pale Moon and they have always
    played nicely together .

    Referring to my earlier post , Ghostery have replied to my email .
    It's as you might have guessed .... " Sorry , but v6 is what there is .... no reverting to earlier versions is possible "

    I find this attitude strange , many software developers provide options to those who want an earlier version ( eg Skype )

    From what I've read so far , there are a fair number of long term Ghostery users that are removing v6 .
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2016
  20. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,219
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
  21. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    Nice one MisterB , many thanks for posting !

    .... I never even thought to look there for older versions , all credit to Mozilla then .

    Now I'm wondering why the Ghostery support team didn't know that ( or chose not to tell me ! )
     
  22. old school

    old school Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Spain
    Me too @quietman . In Cyberfox I have no problem, but continually fails this extension in SlimJet (x64 version). This problem has been occurring for a short time

    "Warning:
    This extension failed to redirect a network request to ,,, because another extension (uBlock Origin) has redirected to ..."

    upload_2016-3-1_16-8-17.png
     
  23. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    This message will be shown with newer versions of uBlock Origin. Because it has surrogate functionality similar to Noscript/Ghostery. And both the extensions are trying to replace the offending resource with a neutered resource.
    Since, uBlock Origin is the latest one being installed on your setup (i presume), it is saying your Ghostery failed to do the redirection.

    I don't think it causes any issue. It's just a warning message. Also, it is better not to run uBlock Origin with other content blocking extensions. It is just a waste of resources, like running two real time AVs!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2016
  24. old school

    old school Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Spain
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.