Do you use Drive Snapshot?

Discussion in 'polls' started by ams963, Jun 4, 2012.

?

Do you use Drive Snapshot?

  1. Yes- Workstation version.

    40.0%
  2. Yes- Server version.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Yes- Currently trialing.

    6.7%
  4. No- don't like it(please mention reason)

    10.0%
  5. No- it has very little features compared to it's competitors.

    3.3%
  6. No- don't like the gui.

    3.3%
  7. No- it's too simple for my taste.

    3.3%
  8. No- Never heard of it.

    33.3%
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Do you use this wonderful imaging software?

    Best Wishes,
    ams963
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    Never tested it.

    I use Macrium Reflect Free which works very well.
     
  3. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    seems like a very nice app when i tried it.

    but it wrecks the Windows 7 boot time recovery tools.
    well, that was the issue when i last tried it over a year ago.

    i don't know if it's been fixed since then...
     
  4. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Can you please elaborate on the above?

    Kind regards,

    KOR!
     
  5. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    USA
    Yes and it works flawlessly on XP, Vista and 7 (32/64 bit) - DS is an amazingly small, portable and reliable program!
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012
  6. Wendi

    Wendi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    522
    Location:
    NY, USA
    I couldn't agree more with Scott's comments. Ever since he introduced me to DS (and my other security programs), I have found it to be invaluable (DS has never failed to do its job perfectly). :thumb:
     
  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    I choose "No- Never heard of it" as my answer. None of the answers really applied to me. I have heard of it but have never really liked at or tried it out. The reason for this is I use TeraByte's Image for Windows and am totally satisfied with it. Since I have paid for IFW, am completely happy with it, and it meets and exceeds all expectations or what I need it to do, there is really no reason to look elsewhere. Maybe whenever it comes time to purchase an upgrade, I may take a look at DS. Only time will tell.
     
  8. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    USA
    Kent,

    IFW is another great disk-imaging app. DS and IFW are the two most consistently reliable image-backup apps that I have used. While they each have their advantages/disadvantages, having either one there's not much reason to look elsewhere!

    Scott
     
  9. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I fully concur with you my dear friend.

    Best regards,


    KOR!

    P.S. Still waiting to hear from moontan.
     
  10. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
  11. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dear moontan,

    Thanks for the link. The reason I asked that on my two laptops and one desktop the WINRE, "Windows 7 boot time recovery tools" is broken. I don't if this had to do with Drive Snapshot while I was testing it live and did restoration.

    However, I found out about it when IFW came out with WINRE and I couldn't get it to work on my above mentioned computers. See the thread here with my post #266 onwards:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=305838&page=11&highlight=image windows

    Both Brian and Zfactor tried to help but still no joy. Seems like from the link you provided that "boyans" has put some instructions how to repair this, but these are above my head.

    Do you know how to repair the broken WINRE, "Windows 7 boot time recovery tools"?

    Many thanks in advance!

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  12. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    have you tried running the Windows 7 repair disk a couple of times?

    other than that, i don't know.
    this stuff is too technical for me.

    which is why i switched to IFW.
     
  13. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I can boot into my computers, but when I press [F8], the WINRE, Recovery Environment is not there. I have tried everything but no joy yet, even the Windows 7 repair disk couple of times as you suggested.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  14. Scott W

    Scott W Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    USA
    Hi KOR,

    Perhaps this solution will give you some joy. ;)

    Scott
     
  15. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dearest Scott,

    Thank you for turning me on to the above. But still no joy. As, when I go into Windows repair, it doesn't show up my operating system. The short answer is to format my three computers with SSDs which were messed up by HDS by giving me the OLD version of Rollback Rx when I purchased from them three licenses of Rollback Rx. I had nightmares for two months with my three computers. They never apologized for this mess, and shows how bad the company is. They truly lack ethics.

    However, I enjoyed learning a lot from the link you provided. I was up all night learning and messing things up. Eventually, I messed up my computer and had to restore my current one day old image.

    Once again, thank you for being such a kind and excellent friend. You have always come to my rescue and helped me.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  16. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    For those who are reading this thread, let me assure them that Drive Snapshot is a solid program. It is so small but so much full of features, that it is mind boggling.

    ONE OF THE BEST!

    Wish it was not so damn expansive, that I could afford it.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  17. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Yes it is simply awesome. :thumb:
     
  18. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Never heard of it. :D
     
  19. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    not using now. but its a great software:thumb:
     
  20. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    What imaging software are you using then? :)
     
  21. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    I voted 'Yes - Workstation version' incorrectly - I'm actually running the 30-day trial (I assume it's the workstation version). This little program does the job very fast and very reliably (I've been using it for 3 weeks now on our 2 PCs (W7-64 & XP-32), backing-up every other day and I've restored each PC 3 times successfully)! :thumb:

    Unfortunately at $49 (39 Euro) per PC, Drive Snapshot is a little on the expensive side (even though it is a lifetime license). I've requested that they offer it on Bits Du Jour at half-price or less. Maybe they would do that if enough of us requested it.

    TS
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2012
  22. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    If you use snapshot on computers for private use only you can use one
    license for up to 3 computers. If there is any kind of business usage
    you need one license for each computer.

    It's a lifetime license but updates and upgrades are free for "only"
    two years since the date of purchase. If you want to update or upgrade
    after two years you have to pay 40% of the original license fee. The update
    includes another two years of free upgrades and updates.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2012
  23. The Shadow

    The Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    814
    Location:
    USA
    That's not my understanding - where did you read that? :doubt:
     
  24. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No using Win 7 Imaging.
     
  25. Technical

    Technical Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Brazil
    I use Macrium Reflect Free.
     
Loading...