Do you use Do Not Track Plus?

Discussion in 'polls' started by ams963, Aug 14, 2012.

?

Do you use Do Not Track Plus?

  1. Yes

    13 vote(s)
    31.0%
  2. No

    21 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. Never heard of it

    8 vote(s)
    19.0%
  1. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Do you use Do Not Track Plus?
     
  2. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Do Not Track subscriptions for AdBlock Plus, as well as Firefox's built in Do Not Track feature is enough. I don't need DNTP...

    So, I voted No
     
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    How this add-on different than Ghostery?
     
  4. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    No, am covered enough by ABP and subscriptions. The Do Not Track of Firefox is a voluntary thing, so I don't think that many websites will volunteer. ;)
     
  5. Empath

    Empath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Posts:
    178
    Do Not Track Plus doesn't stop contact with the offending tracking sites. It creates a do-not-track cookie for each of the ones that honor the do-not-track process, and creates bogus cookies for the others. It does create a glut of cookies that makes it a little difficult to monitor your cookies simply.

    That's not to say it doesn't serve its purpose. It just does it in a different way than Ghostery.
     
  6. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Using AdFender - that works with many browsers. And it's free.
     
  7. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  8. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You're wrong. It does block access to tracking services, besides setting opt-out cookies. You can disable either of the protection.
     
  9. carat

    carat Guest

    It seems to have a better "whitelist" than Ghostery, I tried several websites without any broken links or other problems! :)
     
  10. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    No. I check "Tell websites I do not want to be tracked" in options > Privacy. Use ABP (EasyList & EasyPrivacy). And Ghostery (3pes only). And CS Lite Mod with cookies denied globally.

    I don't feel that DNT+ would be necessary for me.
     
  11. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Don't even know what it is. :D
     
  12. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Agree, neither do I
     
  13. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    yes with firefox.
     
  14. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Yepper...I do! RR:D
     
  15. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,413
    Yes I use it!
     
  16. THESAWISFAMILY2005

    THESAWISFAMILY2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIA
    Never heard of it

    i currently use adblock on firefox

    thats enough for me
     
  17. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    I was about to make the same question but in reference to DNT+ and Ghostery.
    They pretty much seem to do the same but according to DNT+ it actually allows interaction with social buttons:
    DNT+ Chrome Web Store.png

    From my experience Ghostery completely blocks this social buttons, which in some cases cripple the site.
     
  18. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    No.

    it's built-in Firefox.
    Options/Privacy/Tracking
     
Loading...