do you use adblocking software?

Discussion in 'polls' started by GUI_Tex, Feb 7, 2006.

?

Do you use adblock software?

  1. (Despise 'em) Yes, and I never want to see an ad, never want to click an ad.

    175 vote(s)
    64.3%
  2. (Dislike 'em) Yes, but for only websites that are intrusive.

    50 vote(s)
    18.4%
  3. (Find 'em Necessary) No, I dont like stealing content from webmasters, they deserve.. in return.

    22 vote(s)
    8.1%
  4. (Dont care either way) No, I could careless, I just go along with the flow.

    25 vote(s)
    9.2%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,678
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    for firefox user... you can also try adding or using the ImgLikeOpera extension. It gives you the choice not to load or show those images/pictures on the web and only words if you want to. It acts maybe similar to ads blocker. It really can speed up your browsing. :eek:
     
  2. Ga1tar

    Ga1tar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    U.K
    Admuncher looks after I.E, for my regular sufing habits the latest Opera just makes me purr like a cheshire cat :D
     
  3. operafox

    operafox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    Editing the block url list in WebWasher is actually very easy. Go to the WW file in your Programs file, right-click wwblock.ini, open with any text editor, and there you are. Just add any block list you trust or like.

    Rgds
     
  4. betauser2

    betauser2 Guest

    well even their not sure this is from their site

    to add to the confusion i always thought it was a GOAT and still do.

    betauser2
     
  5. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    admuncher here too! fantastic program
     
  6. dog

    dog Guest

    I use the free options for adblocking - Proxomitron and Privoxy on several different boxes and OSs - I love them both - but I prefer Proxomitron, there are many good filter sets available.
     
  7. JVM

    JVM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Posts:
    328
    I can only tell you the developer says it's a bull.

    Personally, I don't care anymore because I'm now using Adblock Plus :)
     
  8. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Admuncher.
     
  9. crackman

    crackman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Southern California
    No. If you don't like ads, don't look at them, but let the websites show their content.

    CrackMan
     
  10. Tonia

    Tonia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Dreamland
    I use Firefox Adblock, and I can tell you.
    It works perfect. Almost no ads to see :)


    Greets Toni :)
     
  11. Sonap

    Sonap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Limenaria Thassos (GR)
    Re: do you us adblocking software?

    Yes, and I never want to see an ad, never want to click an ad.
     
  12. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,228
    Location:
    US
    I have no problem with regular ads, and certainly no issue with "Google" like ads, but ads that flash or are obnoxious and try to get my attention ... I have a hard time concentrating as it is, and anything that tries to break my concentration, goes bye-bye. :cool:

    Acadia
     
  13. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    Re: do you us adblocking software?

    I see the ads, I just don't click on 'em. It's immaterial now especially being on DSL. If I was still on dial-up, that might be a different story.
     
  14. Dazza

    Dazza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    U.K
    Adblock 0.6.1.2 and Filterset.G here and have no problems whatsoever with ads...:thumb:
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I use Firefox with AdBlock, NoScript and no cookies. After that I didn't see much ads, I don't even remember seeing them and my AS scanners don't report any threat either.
    I know its boring, only bad stuff is exciting. ;)
     
  16. faterider

    faterider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Proxomitron with Grypen's filterset is enough for me. And if something pass through and irritate me too much, I normally block it with Opera's new ad-blocking feature.

    But I must say I don't despise anything. I just want to have control over my perceptions.
     
  17. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,155
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I really do not care about ADs, but since Outpost blockes them (AD, EXT), I like it.
     
  18. progress

    progress Guest

    Yes, and I never want to see an ad, never want to click an ad :gack:
     
  19. vizhip

    vizhip Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    83
    Firefox and Adblock Plus...

    (except this forum and Tallemu when I am surfing with IE)

    Regards -
    -Bob
     
  20. Minimax2000

    Minimax2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I hate being distracted by ads. Outpost's Webcontrol blocks them very well.
    In rare cases I use Opera's "Block content" function as well.
     
  21. Neoxellos

    Neoxellos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Posts:
    60
    Ad Muncher.
     
  22. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Re: do you us adblocking software?

    It is recommended to not use filterset.g with AdBlockPlus. From the source

    On Vista and Ubuntu I run AdBlockPlus (1.02) with the EasyList (USA) and EasyPrivacy filter subscriptions, as well as a few of my own additions.

    Also, IE 8 has InPrivate Filtering turned on.

    I have not found an acceptable solution for Opera.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2009
  23. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    Re: do you us adblocking software?

    Using the InPrivate Filtering feature in IE8, with imported rules. Works like a charm.
     
  24. demonon

    demonon Guest

    Proxomitron with sidki's config on XP.
    Ad muncher on Vista.
    Adblock plus on Ubuntu, but I am looking for a better alternative.
    Adblock plus needs too much tweaking to work properly IMO.
     
  25. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Opera with Proxomitron + Sidki ruleset on Windows 7
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.