Do you use a sandbox?

Discussion in 'polls' started by acr1965, Dec 14, 2011.

?

Do you use a sandbox?

  1. Yes, Bufferzone

    1 vote(s)
    0.6%
  2. Yes, DefenseWall

    8 vote(s)
    4.4%
  3. Yes, GeSWall

    2 vote(s)
    1.1%
  4. Yes, Sandboxie

    96 vote(s)
    53.3%
  5. Yes, other stand alone sandbox program (please state which)

    6 vote(s)
    3.3%
  6. Yes, included in my av/suite (Avast, Kaspersky, other- state which)

    13 vote(s)
    7.2%
  7. Nope

    54 vote(s)
    30.0%
  1. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    Sandboxie Lifetime and Comodo
     
  2. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I wouldn't browse without sbie. Absolutely a must have. :)
     
  3. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Sandboxie Paid for me.
     
  4. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Sandboxie on 32/64 bit systems! ALWAYS :)
     
  5. woomera

    woomera Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    212
    best of them is sandboxie and it slows the hell out of browsers, tried it with firefox and chrome, same thing with both.
     
  6. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Not even close to my experience on any of my machines, with multiple architectures and browsers.
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,695
    Location:
    USA
    It would be more accurate to say that it has that effect on YOUR browsing.
    Not on mine... not with Chrome or IE9/IE8, XP or W7. Not in the least.
     
  8. Tsast42

    Tsast42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    The only slowdown I find is of launch times which are roughly doubled, all else is unaffected. Every security measure reduces performance in some respect, whether it's worthwhile is a cost/benefit thing.
     
  9. Mild_Manered

    Mild_Manered Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    usa
    One of the reasons I use Sandboxie is, there is no drag like with AV's on my older XP-SP3 machine. I tried a few free AV's and they are fine for a couple of days and then I feel a slight drag.
     
  10. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    993
    I have the similar "one of the reasons" of Mild_Manered; this "one of the reasons" is enough to not use any AV now.

    SandboxIE and Toolwiz Time Freeze are an excellent duo in my security setup.
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I'm using any kind of sandbox right now.
     
  12. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    my thoughts exactly !

    I'm using any kind of sandbox right now.

    what do you mean by that ?
     
  13. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion
    Sandboxie - Always!
     
  14. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Sandboxie - Now and Forever
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.