Do you run Real time scanner?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Fuzzfas, Feb 7, 2013.

?

Do you run realtime scanner?

  1. Yes.

    73.0%
  2. No.

    27.0%
  1. merisi

    merisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    316
    While I find my AV is pretty much redundant most of the times that I just feel that I need that extra layer of security. I also find that my avast only seems to use 3.5mb of RAM on my system so it's not like it's draining my set up.
     
  2. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    504
    I don't run on my home pc,but i have Avira Premium on work laptop..
    I don't think Av's are useless but i don't like them..I don't think they progressed much..

    For ex:I was copying a few dozens PDF's from one partition to another...The real time scanner pop ed at 30-50% CPU continuous during this operation..
    I think is stupid ...
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,070
    This is not typical behaviour for antivirus software these days. You should switch to a lighter antivirus. Even if CPU use was halved, I would still look for an alternative.
     
  4. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,892
    Location:
    US
    Yup by all means. Try a dozen more until you get one that doesn't eat that much CPU. I found mine but can't break the forum rules.
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    Ah, ol' memories. Just so you all know that I love MSE and Avira not because of a baseless fanboyism (okay, maybe a little :p ).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2013
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,772
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    No at least not just yet. Windows 8 smackware will surely make their appearance at some point but untill such time it demands necessity a solid HIPS supported by Light Virtualization apps = ShadowDefender + Sandboxie will do. Simple routine scans via online AV's are sufficient for now i think.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.