Do you run Real time scanner?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Fuzzfas, Feb 7, 2013.

?

Do you run realtime scanner?

  1. Yes.

    73.0%
  2. No.

    27.0%
  1. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,639
    Yes, Avast.

    Even if Sandboxie is my first and last layer of security I want to be alerted.
     
  2. CrusherW9

    CrusherW9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    517
    Location:
    United States
    Nope. I use Sandboxie as my main security product. I scan downloaded files with HitmanPro. That's the only AV I use.
     
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    Good thinking, Joxx. :thumb:
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I try to put AVs in groups based on their impact on the system. Too heavy, heavy, normal/standard, light, and feather light. So if MSE didn't get up to your standard, then you could simply have tried another one.

    How does he know that if he have nothing that will block or even notify him if bad stuff wants to come in? Hopefully he stays away from online Banking/Purchases if he really got zero protection in place.
    Hmmm...It sounds like he hasn't found Wilders yet ;)
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    He-s better not knowing about Wilders . . . Once in, theres no way OUT! :ninja:
     
  6. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,053
    I do have one running but the very few instances ive come across malware my browser has stopped it.
    Never under-estimate the power of a good browser.o_O
     
  7. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    LOL @ porno Home page.:thumb: You have a valid point.Like people that drive like a bat out of hell and never get a ticket or an accident and the careful driver that gets a ticket for 5 mile an hour over the limit or gets into accidents.
     
  8. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Or the good driver behind it.
     
  9. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,974
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I only use what's in my sig. ;)
     
  10. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    I'm testing Sandboxie and it's working great, even on a guest account. So, many thanks for your suggestion, I think I'll do this from now on. I won't abandon the usage of AV, but Sandboxie seems to be a nice complement (another layer).
     
  11. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    833
    Yes I do Emsisoft.
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,995
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome. You don't have to stop using an antivirus because you decide to use SBIE. The official recommended way of using SBIE is to use it along an AV with SBIE handling threats that are unknown to the antivirus. You don't need to choose between using an AV or SBIE.

    Bo
     
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Spot on! :D
    So true.
     
  14. new2security

    new2security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    517
    RT scanners give me a false sense of security.
    Just an anecdotal evidence but my wife's computer got infected in spite of an updated RT scanner and after that incident, I got rid of her AV, replaced it with Parenteral Controls (W7 Premium) and never had a problem ever since. I scan her PC with portable scanners such as Hitman Pro, Emsisoft Emergency Kit once in a while.

    Also I use virustotal.com frequently.

    Edit : also on demand MBAM for my wifey. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
  15. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Sometimes even 2. CIS + Kingsoft/immunet/whatever else. Just for fun. I see no urgent need even in one RT scanner.
     
  16. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I know. It's a nice sense, isn't it? I am struggling with myself to install Avast again. When you don't visit Wilders, it's easy to go one year without antivirus. When you visit Wilders daily and you start reading about the dozens of antivirus, antimalware, etc, you get "infected" by the trend and paranoia and you want to install antivirus, because it feels like a "live" guardian who's watching over your PC. :D
     
  17. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,053
    False sense of security or not,i would sooner have one than not.Just in case scenario.:D
     
  18. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    there might be a need for a real-time AV is many users are using one machine.

    if you are the only user, real time AVs are mostly a waste of processing power.

    if you scan all your downloads with a on-demand scanner and are careful about what you click on it's all one should need.
     
  19. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    What if you forget to scan one file, what if you don't be careful for whatever reason at some specific time.

    People aren't machines. Real time AVs are an useful line.
     
  20. new2security

    new2security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    517
    The uncomfortable feeling of running "naked" will diminish over time. At least that's how I feel now. The newest AV engine + definitions will not catch the newest malware anyway, and it doesn't matter if the AV itself is able to detect 2 million virii.

    I think running nekkid in a way makes the user to be more careful, e.g. downloads, investigating if the software has received criticism for bundling unwanted malware, try to look after negative reviews etc. I also recently made it a habit to compare the md5 sums of the software "ABC" which I also have downloaded from multiple sources, scan it with
    online virus scanners - and if the software is very new, say a week old, then I tend to avoid it in case the AV signature databases haven't picked it up yet. And of course, I try to find out if the author who wrote the software is trustable.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2013
  21. new2security

    new2security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    517
    Installers are very often 1 single file so I haven't had that problem so far.
     
  22. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I know, i 've run without AV for 1 year when i wasn't visiting Wilders. I 've been without this period for about 3 weeks i think. But i just installed Avast again. It's psychological reason. You go to the "antivirus" forum and you are like lured into running one too. :D I can't change my vote now, can i.... :D :p The main problem is that i am aware that ERP has some things uncovered and i ve trouble with Shadow Defender. I could run Comodo and feel secure enough without antivirus, but it's heavier. So i ve put back Avast.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    Since I am running WSA, the most "light" AV there is AFAIK, of course .. YES, I do! - Don't feel it dragging me down AT ALL (not in general and also not while surfing the web!) and I like the feeling not to be totally "naked" to whatever is lurking out there :D even if I don't (!) get infected anyway (many years of experience say so, it's not arrogance!). :p
     
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    All that sounds very time consuming and VERY exhausting!? :D - No thank you, I prefer having WSA watching over my system while not noticing it doing so. :cool: - In case there is no fp again! :D
     
  25. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    it hapened to me to slip a few times when i was drunk or otherwise. ;)

    in that case, i just restore an image.

    i run a full scan with Hitman Pro once in a blue moon.
    i haven't been infected in many years.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.