Do you have System Restore enabled?

Discussion in 'polls' started by adam993, Apr 25, 2011.

?

Do you have System restore enabled?

  1. Yes

    77 vote(s)
    44.3%
  2. No

    64 vote(s)
    36.8%
  3. No, I use other ISR software (e.g:Rollback Rx)

    33 vote(s)
    19.0%
  1. Corno

    Corno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    Yeah, it is a very misleading name.

    I disable SR every now and then before doing a full antivirus scan, to get rid of riskware. Might as well disable it permanently.
     
  2. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,678
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Yes, but I adjusted their space usage of all drives to only 5%...;)
     
  3. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Thanks
     
  4. ESS474

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    201
    Location:
    S?o Paulo (Brazil)
    System Restore from Windows = Junk.

    Nope, I dont use it.
     
  5. jaodsvuda

    jaodsvuda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    160
    No,I use Paragon´s differential backups (different stages of building the same system),especially after gaming/testing new drivers/testing big software suites...(talking ´bout WinXP x86).
     
  6. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    395
    Generally i have it disabled. I enable it only when i'm about to do something stupid with the registry :D . Just in case, as i back up the registry with Erunt
     
  7. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    When I used it (years ago), it always let me down. Never trusted it. For a long time now I have used Terabyte's Image for Windows (Image for Linux on my Linux) and Acronis True Image. Neither have let me down.....ever....and I tend to do quite a lot of imaging/restoring.
     
  8. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Yep.. I have system restore enabled, not that I actually use it, but have it enable just in case. I am using Paragon backup and recovery suite and like its many features, and it has become one of my most importantly security tools.
     
  9. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    You know, both will work for any OS...
     
  10. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    Thanks J_L... didn't know that, never had reason to try all the possibilities.

    I have successfully used IFW, IFD and IFL for imaging/restoring Windows, although these days I normally use a BartPE disk. Have never tried imaging my Linux partition with IFW but have always chosen to use my IFL boot disk. Been using Terabyte's products for several years and love them.

    Should I get too bored in the next few days I'll try imaging my Linux partition (Mint 10 Julia) with my BartPE disk to see what happens...:)

    As an aside I always use my MustangPE 2 disk for when I'm in an Acronis mood. Also never failed me. (This on Windows of course). Love 'em all. For me life would be such a misery without my regular backups... I'm quite capable of breaking Windows a couple of times a week.... bit harder with Linux!
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    That's why I think their product names are misleading. Should be called Image with OS or Image using OS.
     
  12. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    While I'm no expert, by any means, I'd heard enough bad things about SR (file and/or registry corruption, for instance) that I disabled it eons ago. My antique system came with Farstone's Restore-IT pre-installed, and you could probably call that a handy quasi-ISR, which is what I ticked. It does a full backup (including MBR) when I first boot up every calendar day, which is saved to a "hidden" 3.5 gig partition.

    The only time I've ever had occasion to use it for a restore was when I replaced my aging DVD drive with a new one which came bundled with a newer version of Power DVD than what I had. I found after installing it that the software was an OEM version which for some bizarre reason didn't support Dolby (on a DVD player??), and doing a restore was the only way to get the old version back.
     
  13. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    No, because I've never once seen it actually fix a problem. I disable it, converse those precious resources on this dated PC of mine, and use 3'rd party backup/imaging software instead that I know will work.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.