do you have problems with vista?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iceni60, Dec 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Quote removed
    Wow.

    A personal attack like this would get a person banned from most forums.

    If in fact you were looking for solutions to your problems with Vista, which you are clearly not, you would have had more credibility.

    :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2007
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Ok Folks,

    No more accusations or insults please or this thread will come to an abrupt end.



    snowbound
     
  3. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Only problems I had were with some software at first. A lot of programs were not written with UAC in mind which triggered a lot of windows. Since then software updates have lessened this considerably.

    UAC, love it or hate it, at least made software writers more responsible in their coding where now they don't have free reign over the deepest parts of the OS which shouldn't have been in the first place (unless it was security software or such).
     
  4. Rock Smasher

    Rock Smasher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Earth.
    Hey, Come on people. Work and play well together!
    Or the moderators WILL turn this car around.

    BELIEVE IT!

    Please do not tax their patience. ;)


    "Vista" is just not in the cards for me AT ALL.

    The only reason I even "Upgraded" from WIN98-SE
    to WINXP-PRO was because of a program my Girlfriend
    needed for work that required an NT based OS to run
    and I figured XP-PRO was the best compromise. It was.

    And now that I'm used to it, Quirks and all I'll stick with it
    Thank you Very much.

    :)
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,277
    I am currently running Windows Vista Business (32 bit). No issues to report. Though I have only been using it for a short period of time.

    I plan to go to Ultimate 64 bit sometime next year (most likely after SP1 has been released). Even though it tends to use a lot of RAM, its running pretty smooth (after tweaking it of course). It also seems more stable (and faster) than XP Pro with SP 2.
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    725
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    two of the last times i tried Vista premium, things were ok, then for some reason a box would pop up saying explorer needed to close (cant remember the exact Message) and then i was stuck in a permanent loop.
    A reboot did not solve the problem so it will be another couple of months before i try again.

    This happened both times out of the blue after things seemed to be working nicely.
     
  7. tlu

    tlu Guest

    I've been running Vista for some weeks in a Virtualbox VM on my Linux host. So far no big problems - but it's rather slow compared to my Windows XP also running in a Virtualbox VM. I've tried SP1 RC but couldn't detect noticable speed improvements.

    Actually I hadn't intended to buy Vista at all - but that would have meant that I wouldn't be able to participate in threads like this one in perpetuity ... a horrible vision :D
     
  8. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    So much for Vista's vastly improved security.
    http://entmag.com/news/rss.asp?editorialsid=9345
    From the article:
    Have fun. It's just getting started.
    Rick
     
  9. dNor

    dNor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    212
    Location:
    Irvine, CA, USA
    Been using various editions of Vista for over a year both at work in a network environment and at home with no issues at all. I actually prefer it to XP.

    ;)
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i prefer it as well imo.
     
  11. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Well, Vista has some advantages, e.g. UAC makes it much easier to work under a limited user account. On the other hand, as mentioned above, performance is definitely worse.
     
  12. dNor

    dNor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    212
    Location:
    Irvine, CA, USA
    Performance has been a non-issue since all clients Vista has been installed to in my network handle Vista easily and my home computers with it are well powered.

    The workstations that don't necessarily need Vista also happen to be the ones that would most likely show some (small) of performance drop with Vista and XP's SP3 will last them quite a while to come.

    Only time I've actually noticed a performance issue with Vista is testing it out an archaic hardware and when trying to play some games on it with mid-range hardware. Other than that I've actually noticed faster boot times and no drop in normal computing performance.

    Usually I only recommend it if there's a reason why one would need it over XP and/or if their hardware is adequate enough to thoroughly enjoy it and not be frusturated.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2007
  13. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    first you accuse me of starting the thread so i can say how good linux is, now you think i don't have credibility because i'm not asking the right questions!!! i just want to know if people have vista running OK so i can do a clean install, i'm not looking for solutions. and i posted explaining some of the problems that got me so upset.

    am i allowed to ask something now? i'll go and ask somewhere else.
     
  14. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    725
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I have reinstalled Vista just over 2 weeks ago and what a difference to the previous installs.

    I am really suprised as to just how fast and stable it is running and i am actually enjoying using the operating system.

    The only differences to my previous attempts are a new graphics card to replace the onboard graphics, which must make some difference as i only have 1 gb of ram, and i am no longer using Threatfire.

    I have also turned off indexing and superfetch.

    I am now one happy Vista user :thumb:
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    i have had some issues with vista. sleep mode doesnt work but there is a known issue with creative x-fi vista drivers and sleep mode.
    some installations make rundll32.dll stop working. luckily i image before installing so i can restore back to a good point if i need to.
    if you delete quite alot of folders and empty the recyle bin it can cause explorer to temporary crash and make windows run very slowly afterwards.
    im hoping sp1 will solve most of these issues.
    once sp1 comes out i will restore my orignal vista image with nothing installed install sp1 and my software and see how it goes.
     
  16. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,881
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I have been using Vista on and off for almost a year. All is playing well, except all of a sudden it stops updating. I get the impossible to fix 8007000B error, and according to Google I am not the only one. I´ve tried the solution MS provides in their knowledge base. I´ve downloaded the updates manually, but no go. I´ve been in contact with support lately, but they couldnt fix it. So now I got tired of trying tweaks and went back to XP. I will contact MS the next time I feel I must use Vista again :)
    The only way to get the updates is to reinstall the OS.
     
  17. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Odd you mention this as it recently happened on my test machine. Came down to a WAV voice sample I was trying to delete. It was also the only thing in the Recycle bin at the time. I solved it by creating a TXT file with some random characters, deleted it from the desktop and then tried to empty the trash.

    It worked strangely enough and have not had any further issues except the same issue I reported in a previous post regarding the time it took to complete a download and save to disk. I too am looking forward to the general SP1 release...

    Mike
     
  18. Jo Ann

    Jo Ann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Posts:
    592
    My husband and I use Vista and XP on our PCs, respectively. Since I'm the techie of the family, my husband always confronts me with his Vista issues. Vista has been problematic but is becoming less so with each new MS patch. Still, at this stage of its development it's nowhere near as stable as XP (nor as efficient, in terms of resource utilization)!

    Since MS has just released SP1 for Vista, I plan to download it this weekend, install it on my husband's PC, and see what improvement it brings. :doubt:
     
  19. HelpFromFrance

    HelpFromFrance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    283
    dbknox,

    So how do you change that feature. I have looked all over and can't find the place to change it, I would love to cut it back.

    Thanks & have a good day,
    HelpFromFrance
     
  20. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Thankfully, this so-called feature was eliminated in SP1. It used to bug me too showing up after a reboot in which I had modified my startup files (msconfig). Now after a msconfig you don't get any kind of window, even like the one in XP.
     
  21. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    I hear you and empathize.

    I just got a Vista Premium Home PC and it is infested with megatons of HP software because it's an HP Pavilion desktop.

    I miss my XP so much :( but it looks like it is going to take me quite some time to get used to Vista. I wish they gave us manuals with these things that we pay big bucks for.

    My question is for other HP Vista owners and I am desperate for answers, recommendations, anything. What HP bloatware MUST I keep other than updates? I want to get rid of as much as possible but I do admit, I have no idea what any of it is. My XP was also an HP Presario and I don't recall getting even half the stuff that's loaded on this machine.

    What to keep and what to dump; that's my question please and have a good day all. :)
     
  22. Darth AkSarBen

    Darth AkSarBen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Near Fennville, MI USA
    Microsoft is already working on Windows 7 for a release sometime in 2009. Only about 14% of the businesses have embraced Vista OS. Manufacturers that pre-install OS onto their OEM machines have complained so much that Microsoft extended the deadline for mandatory Vista placement to June of 2008. CNET has articles about the problems and demise of Vista. XP Pro with the new SP3 (RC) has outdone Vista with it's SP1 in speed trials up to 30 % faster. Already there is a Kernel module out for major working on the next 'new' Microsoft OS.

    At the winery we have 8 Windows XP stations. None of them is qualified to run Vista. Some only are running (and fine too) on just 256 MB of RAM. Only 2 computers have 1 GB RAM, and not the newer DDR2 either. ALL our computers would have to be re-vamped to successfully run Vista. This is probably the PRIME reason that businesses are not embracing Vista. Can you imagine a company with just 200 workstation computers, all running XP in a productive manner, and then having to buy/build all new machines on top of buying the new OS? Most owners have found XP to be useful for what they are doing, and with a lot less resources needed. Wasn't Vista supposed to be the all-in-one multimedia experience? When I install XP I change the settings in the Advanced feature of the control panel to "Adjust for best performance". Then all is well. :)
     
  23. Darth AkSarBen

    Darth AkSarBen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Near Fennville, MI USA
    Newbie2247, Dump Vista, buy a Windows XP Pro copy and partition your HD for 2 partitions, one large, one small, and install XP Pro on the large and keep the other drive for drivers, new downloads, storage for backup files, etc.;)
     
  24. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    :thumbd: Vista, at least for me, is slow, bothersome, and gets in the way of the daily OS maintenance. If M$ could speed it up a little, find a not-so irritating UAC, and allow users to clean the disk and registry without 20 questions, I would probably be using it now. But XP fills my bill ;) .

    SourMilk out.
     
  25. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    I have had no problems with vista for nearly a year now - which is when I last installed it to test and then removed it and returned to Xp
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.