do you have problems with vista?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iceni60, Dec 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i can't believe i'm the only person whose vista is totally unusable. it completely doesn't work at all. when it starts every startup program lines up to let me know it's not working, then they all go and connect to MS to tell them too. the CPUs are always at 100% the stupid system error sound is always going off, then antivir 'finds' a virus and i spend hours clicking ignore while trying to add the program to the exception list.

    when i manually run a program i have to click a few things just to get it running, then that stops working and the whole computer hangs. i still get popups about norton eventhough i uninstalled that the first day i got it. i just uninstalled some of the bloat that came with it and added some WUs. now, after a reboot, the wireless has stopped working, so i'm typing this at another computer running linux while that computer does a system restore. I HATE VISTA IT'S THE WORST OS EVER!!!!!!!!

    i'm glad everyone at redmond uses vista because they deserve to use it. i listened to the leo laporte podcast about windows the other day, and they always go on about the 'windows experience' lol morons.
     
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Nope. Vista has been working quite well since June of 2007 for me.
     
  3. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Yep, I feel your pain iceni. I cannot seem to find how to turn off this "Windows has blocked a startup program" everytime I turn on my laptop. ><!!
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    no problems at all here..

    sosaiso.. what program does it say it is??
     
  5. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    the wireless has totally stopped working now, i was about to install a FW too. i'm just going to erase the partition and never use vista again. i can use suse for months and months and have no problems. everytime i've ever used vista i get to the point of wanting to smash my laptop to pieces. i hate MS and everyone who has anything to do with vista!
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Smart decision iceni60 :thumb: but didnt you say you needed to learn Vista?
     
  7. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Hate is such a self-destructive emotion. What is your payback for subjecting yourself to this?
     
  8. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    I just bought a new computer with Vista Home premium on it. The only problem I had was changing the System restore from approx. 20 gig to 1 gig.
    ( My first image I took was 79gigs "compressed)" even though only 38 gigs was used, once I set system restore it is now 17 gigs)
    I also find it a bit hard to wake up from hibernation so I removed that. I had read so many bad reports about Vista, that I was very apprehensive about it. But other then the above,everything works as it should. So far I have only found a couple of really old software programs that don't work.
    iceni60 I am sorry to hear you are having so many problems. Just out of curiosity flavor of Vista is it.
     
  9. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    335
    Wow! That's got to be really frustrating...sounds like a complete meltdown of Vista. I hear about these issues, but I honestly have to say I've not had anywhere near these kind of problems with Vista, but if I had I know I would go back to XP Pro.

    I had to figure out a few tweaks that helped the Vista experience, and I did get rid of SP1 RC because it created some hiccups.

    But right now Vista and I are friends, and I really like MS's shift to standard user account in Vista via UAC. I'm thankful Vista purrs on this Dell XPS machine.
     
  10. Rock Smasher

    Rock Smasher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Earth.
    Do I have problems with "Vista"?

    No. I do not have problems with "Vista" Because I
    don't HAVE "Vista" nor am I likely to in the future. ;)

    Seriously. I'm quite happy with "XP-PRO" and have no
    plans to "upgrade", :blink: to "Vista" ever. :thumbd:

    I've heard too many complaint's about it such as yours.
     
  11. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Well. This certainly was a productive thread. :thumbd:
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have been running Vista Home Premium for six months or so and I have not had any problems with it. It starts and runs quicker than the XP Pro I had on here previously. Of course there are some programs that don't run on Vista but I don't miss them, there are alternatives. I hate to hear that some of you are having problems with Vista. But I honestly have not seen them. Hopefully you will get the OS working properly. I have found out with a little testing that Vista is very sensitive to the security apps it will run well with. The two antivirus apps that I have found to run the best on Vista are McAfee and Avast. I am not promoting either one but just stating that in my testing they are the ones that will run on my comp With Vista with the best compatability.
     
  13. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    The only people that have problems with Vista, or indeed any other OS are the ones who are hell bent on ruining it by tampering with what they dont know :cautious: My sympathy for such forelorn folk is absent :shifty:
     
  14. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    just because you don't know anything about an OS doesn't mean everyone else is clueless too. i really like XP and love learning about windows, i just finished reading Windows Internals by Mark Russinovich. i haven't touched vista apart from installing some programs, i'm using vista premium.
     
  15. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    Most of my vista problems got solved after a few registry tweaks etc and disabling a lot of resource intensive rubbish (like the Indexing Service) that i dont need. However, i still got rid of it and wont reinstall until sp1 is released.

    XP with sp3 is the best!!!
     
  16. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    I've given Vista a fair shot for the last 2 months and no problems what-so-ever. It boots slower and runs slower than XP on 1gig ram, other than that its fine.
     
  17. poirot

    poirot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    299
    I'm glad there are some who dont have any problem with Vista....

    I've just bought an HP-Vista Premium notebook for my uncle which i've been using for about a week now.
    I didnt apply any BlackViper 'tampering' to Services or other system files (which i usually do in XP) and limited myself to removing Norton -using also their Removal Tool-and i refrained from changing any Windows Firewall settings,i only disabled IE protected mode to check if it was in the way of some sites display, installing only Avira Antivir Classic,Returnil and Boclean.

    After installing all Windows Updates,the machine was running fine.

    Then,today,when i was running Returnil in Lock Session state (i had forgot about that) i double clicked on IE in order to put back the Protected mode......

    the computer froze and i was completely and repeatedly unable to boot , even in SafeMode, cause was
    'Registry is Corrupted'.
    No System Restore was available, as the previous Restore points had been wiped out by the freezing-corruption, triggered by my order to revert to Protected mode when i was still 'protected' by Returnil.
    When i ordered a reboot neither Returnil nor IE-Vista could do their job.

    A possible bug which i'd gladly let Returnil know about-if support wasnt for paid only.
    I dont think there is any point in letting MS know about it.

    I had no other recourse than making a complete Recovery from the Recovery D partition created by HP, an image of the computer as it was when packed......i didnt lose anything,but i am still at this very moment making updates to no end......

    This event tells a lot about how damned uselessly complicated is Vista.
    It does not tolerate the doings of the others as it is highly 'intolerant' ,convoluted and hates even itself.

    Would XP have provoked such a mess just because i had just changed a system setting while on Returnil? I doubt that!

    With XP + a HIPS + a Sandbox-like program + real Firewall + Virtualisation program ,all or most of it completely free, you can have what Protected Mode of IE, low integrity,UAC etc.etc. give you with a lot less pain....and more ease of use= security.

    I really feel that with my current set up of XP+ProSecurity+GeSWall free+Comodo+Returnil i am better off than a Vista user ,regarding all previously mentioned factors.

    I want to buy a new desktop, but today i decided to find one which does not force me to buy Vista....
     
  18. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Interesting, I guess Vista still has a ways to go b4 it's out of beta ;)
     
  19. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i think a lot of my problems are to do with the pre-installed stuff, it's a compaq, all the pre-installed stuff are HP things, so i'm sure HP laptops are just as bad. also i wanted to get something that would run linux so i only have 1 gig of ram. i didn't get a MS vista disc, but if i could reinstall it with a MS disc i'm sure it would run fine, but i don't know where to get one.

    not running vista isn't a big lose to me, i've got a XP disc i can use with two unused XP licences, plus i use linux.
     
  20. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Which, of course, is the real point of this entire thread.:rolleyes:
     
  21. sosaiso

    sosaiso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    601
    Finally got rid of it. It was actually msconfig running at every startup to remind me that it shouldn't run at every startup. ><
     
  22. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I recently have had to spend ages fixing my cousins new vista laptop, could'nt get wpa2 to work at all, wpa1 works fine. I assume its a driver issue.
     
  23. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,696
    Hello,

    My confessions:

    When I tested the Beta I found no compatibility issues - except total boredom and sad copycat features.

    But the price + the bloat footprint after installation make it total no-no.

    Vista is ok as long as you get dandy drivers - but if you don't have them, you're screwed.

    iceni, Vista has the new feature called tracknix - it runs at boot time and checks the hard disk sector 0 for traces of GRUB. If they are found, the so called 'annoy' mode is activated which punishes the 'nix users.

    I suggest you use brand-new hard disk that did not have communist OSes on it if you want an invigorating yet boring Vista experience.

    Mrk
     
  24. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK

    :D - Is that before the option to disable hardware incompatability mode ?
     
  25. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    ~snip~ you don't know what you're talking about, ~snip~. i've never been a linux fanboy, there are lots of threads where i've said how much i like windows, including this one. i started this thread because i was having problems with vista.

    there are no threads where i've done anything like what you're suggesting, and you won't find any if you look.

    if you look at what you quoted you can see i even thought about XP before i even mentioned linux, but you editted that bit out! and i said i don't think it's a problem with vista, but with the stuff HP put on the laptop.

    ~snip~thank you.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 16, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.