Do you have enabled or disabled JS?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Creer, Nov 20, 2012.

?

Do you have enabled or disabled JS by default in your browser settings?

  1. I have enabled JS

    40 vote(s)
    52.6%
  2. I have disabled JS

    13 vote(s)
    17.1%
  3. I use NoScript or other No JS extension

    23 vote(s)
    30.3%
  1. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Simple question,
    - do you have enabled or disabled JavaScript in browser settings?

    .
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
  2. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i disable it and use an extension in Chrome; Quick Javascript Switcher.
    it's made for web developers but i use it for js control.
    i used NoScript before that and Opera built-in js control.
    plus NotScript, ScriptNo and others.

    at first, disabling js it was for security and privacy, but now it's more to control all that CPU-busting, bandwidth-eating advertising/tracking crap.
    thought i'm happy to kill 3 birds with one stone. ;)

    here's more on what i use at the moment.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2146355&postcount=244

    i only select very few sites to go on a whitelist.
    if it's not on the whitelist i might allow temporarily if needed.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
  3. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,914
    Honestly, I never cared about the JS is on or off. So it must be on if it is installed on my comp by default.
     
  4. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I have JS enabled but I run Chrome in sandbox.
     
  5. jo3blac1

    jo3blac1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Posts:
    739
    Location:
    U.S.
    none of the options given were correct for me.

    I am using Outpost Web Control in which my favorite websites get JS enabled while all unknown by default have JS disabled.
     
  6. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    in chrome i use it under apparmor (linux) so its enable where as on firefox i use no-script :)
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I enable JavaScript for common domains like .com, .edu, .gov, and the like. I have it disabled for all other domains.
     
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I tend to use a combination of NoScript & RequestPolicy on SeaMonkey. If I switch to Opera or Chrome for any reason though I normally don't bother with any JS control. Anyone got any recommendations for JS in Chrome?
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    I used to use NoScript but found it to be a terrific pain in the neck. At this point I just don't care. I have never been infected by anything javascript so I just don't worry about it. And it I were to do some browsing I was worried about I would use Sandboxie or a virtual machine.
     
  10. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
    Yeah, same here... I have it enabled. Used to use NoScript, but for me it's too much hassle.... I don't worry.. never had a problem yet in decades online...
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,239
    I have it enabled, and don't use any script blocking software.
     
  12. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    same here! Java FTW
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    no JavaScript at all on my system
     
  14. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I've used JAVA ever since I started using computers 16 years ago and never had a problem. you just have to make sure it is updated. If you don't have JAVA many sites won't display as they are intended and you don't know what you're missing coz you've never used it! :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
     
  15. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I have Java on my desktop but it only runs after i allow it. (Chrome by default asks for permission) :D
     
  16. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    some of you folks are aware that Java and javascripts have nothing in common, right?
     
  17. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Nope, I'm not paranoid enough to disable it.

    Firstly, Java is NOT an Acronym. Secondly, Java has absolutely NOTHING to do with JavaScript, a.k.a. ECMAScript.
     
  18. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    most of the internet works very well without javascripts.

    surfing speed is increased drastically as a result.
    i've read on a site yesterday that about 42% of the bandwidth a surfer use is devoted to advertising/tracking bs.

    i've started getting fed up with js when i encountered some news sites with so much js running that they freeze the computer for a few seconds when they load all the stuff.

    not with MY computer, than you very much. lol
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,239
    Java and JavaScript are two very different things:

    http://www.dannyg.com/ref/javavsjavascript.html
     
  20. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA i didn't know what was Java script but i did read all the thread so since everyone was talking about Java i thought it was indeed Java! :D :D
     
  21. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I have it enabled and don't use any "script blocker". Fine idea for those who can deal with it, but it's not worth my hassle to whitelist period, let alone individual sites/scripts.
     
  22. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    I have javascript enabled but restricted with Proxomitron.
     
  23. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I used to have it disabled, then I tried NoScript, but since almost every webpage needs it anyway, so I have it enabled now.
     
  24. Wild Hunter

    Wild Hunter Former Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,375
    I don't disable JavaScript. Most websites are useless without it.

    When the browser supports NoScript, I install it - however, I enable the option to "Allow Scripts Globally". What I really appreciate in NoScript are the "default" protections that don't require user interaction.

    :D Don't blame everyone. I read the whole thread and my conclusion is that only you and berryracer made this (common) confusion between Java and JavaScript.
     
  25. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    JavaScript: Enabled

    Running Firefox within DefenseWall...:cool:
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2012
Loading...