Do you cover your computer webcam?

Discussion in 'polls' started by AlexC, Jan 17, 2014.

?

Do you cover your computer webcam?

  1. yes

    13 vote(s)
    32.5%
  2. no

    22 vote(s)
    55.0%
  3. sometimes

    5 vote(s)
    12.5%
  1. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Do you cover your computer webcam with tape or something else?
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    No. And it doesn't have a cover to close it unlike my old netbook. Also, it doesn't have a light to indicate if it's being activated. All go stealthy. :ninja:
     
  3. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    Of course I do. And I educated other people, especially those with little kids to do so as well. Or if they don't cover their camera to at least keep their laptop shut when they don't use it.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    No, I don't do anything embarrassing (to me) or incriminating in front of the webcam. Maybe if I know it's being recorded.
     
  5. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I do it sometimes. Just to be on the safe side.;)
     
  6. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    My webcam and microphone remain unplugged unless I'm using it.
     
  7. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    I don't cover my webcam, but I do uninstall the drivers, since I have no purpose in using one (Laptops only).
     
  8. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    No.

    Why do people cover the webcam?


    ----
    rich
     
  9. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I don't have one. It was a deliberate choice, when I had this computer custom built.
     
  10. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    261
    Location:
    USA
    I cover the webcam on both my laptop and tablet with opaque tape because neither one has a light to indicate if it is on.
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    For absolute certainty. Otherwise there may be backdoors, exploits, and the like both in the OS and the firmware.
     
  12. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    You know:D.........hxxps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRPj6vwOOs0
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014
  13. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    You know the Snowden and NSA and stuff. Also the hackers who exploit the camera to black mail you later on.
     
  14. Krysis

    Krysis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    DownUnder
    No – any program on my system that is capable of using it is bound and gagged! (besides ...the lighting at my workstation is so bad that I appear onscreen as a gray amorphous blob!) :)
     
  15. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    I don't see the point. If my webcam is being used a LED lights up. That's never happened except when I am using my webcam.

    To those who will say that the webcam can be used without the LED lighting up, this is just not possible. There are some Logitech webcams which have the option to be used without the light coming on. This is the way they were designed, not some exploit by hackers. As for other webcams, I'm sure there is nothing to worry about.
     
  16. Balthazar

    Balthazar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    Earth
    Just in case...
     
  17. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    I have no webcam's peroid...:D
     
  18. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I have built-in, I have it covered with a thick piece of paper and the camera is disabled in device manager as well.
    Yes, I could have uninstalled drivers for it, but Windows has tendency installing them again and then it is enabled.
    Funny, just last month I have read the article, where they proved, that it is indeed possible. If you want, you can can always find a way, this is just one of them:

    http://www.tested.com/tech/mac-os/4...-led-indicator-light-isnt-always-trustworthy/

    It is not the paranoia, In another article, they showed how to see, what you have typed, just based on the sound made by typing through the wall or at a long distance.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014
  19. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    896
    No, webcam is disabled in device manager. :ninja:
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    From the article:
    So it's not a problem as of yet if you are unlucky enough to own a new Mac, and the article refers specifically to old Macs. It stands to reason that they are not the only webcams that are vulnerable. However being the non paranoid type, I'm not worried that my webcam may get exploited. If I was, I guess I would cover my webcam with tape, and would also install antivirus software, and not run Windows with an admin account with UAC disabled.

    But, I'm not paranoid and am more than happy with my current under protected configuration.
     
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    I simply cannot believe that all webcams can be exploited in this way.
     
  22. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    896
    Very interesting! :thumb:
     
  23. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Only when I download donkey pr0n ...
    Mrk
     
  24. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,785
    Location:
    US
    All software can be exploited. My black tape on my camera cannot!
     
  25. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    896
    New security: Black tape 1.0! :D
     
Loading...