Do you configure your real-time anti-virus/malware product(s)?

Discussion in 'polls' started by malexous, Feb 14, 2012.

?

Do you configure your real-time anti-virus/malware product(s)?

  1. I configure everything to their highest level (or would were they not by default).

    14.7%
  2. I configure everything to their lowest level (or would were they not by default).

    5.9%
  3. I configure everything to the same level that is not the highest or lowest possible (or would were t

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. I configure them to certain different levels but none are set to their highest (or would were they n

    8.8%
  5. I configure them to certain different levels but none are set to their lowest (or would were they no

    14.7%
  6. I configure them to certain different levels (or would were they not by default).

    35.3%
  7. I let my anti-virus/malware product(s) decide (default settings).

    20.6%
  8. My anti-virus/malware product(s) do(es) not have level settings.

    2.9%
  9. Other.

    11.8%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    At the moment, I have Panda Cloud Antivirus Free Edition installed on my Windows 7 partition but it does not have any level settings.
     
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I prefer configurable antivirus programs because I like to tweak them.
    Generally I set them on the higher side but not the highest setting if I don't like the default settings.
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Depending on which product I am using on a particular day, the one common setting is that I want to be prompted before files are deleted. False positives are much more common than actual malicious files. At least in my experience.
     
  4. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    And, that's a practice everyone using an antimalware application should follow. :thumb: As you well said, FPs do happen... a lot. It's specially problematic when they delete system files. :ouch:
     
  5. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    And unfortunately, that seems to be a default setting on a lot of security programs... to automatically delete the file the program finds.
    I always adjust that setting to 'Ask before doing anything'.
     
  6. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    i configure my security software to min system impact without reducing its effectiveness..
    but currently im not using any realtime AV or AM..
     
  7. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I usually do configure all my AV software to the highest possible, even if it means thousands of pop ups (HIPS) :rolleyes: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  8. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    Ojai, CA
    I use DEFAULT.

    Seems to work for me.:)
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    On my avast! Free Antivirus:
    • Only one essential real-time shield (File system shield) installed (default settings + PUPs' scanning enabled);
    • AutoSandbox disabled;
    • Hidden avast! tray icon;
    • Silent/Gaming Mode enabled;
    • Totally password-protected;
    • Highest possible settings for Full System scan;
    • No scheduled scan;
    • Other settings = default.
     
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    I configure everything to their highest level (or would were they not by default).
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I configure my av to my convenience.....:cool:
     
Loading...