Do I still need a dedicated antispyware prog

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by philebus, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. philebus

philebus Registered Member

Hi All,

I have a life subscription to superantispyware, but am wondering whether I still need to use it (especially since it doesn't seem to run too well with Avira on my computer).

Currently, I'm using:
    comodo 2.4 firewall
    boclean
    Avira antivir premium
    XP pro sp 3

Even though I use p2p I have never got a virus or trojan, so I am wondering if given this combo I really need to use SAS, especially since it has become buggy on my system of late? Does its real-time protection add any protection to that provided by avira and boclean?

any views appreciated

thanks

2. Sjoeii

Sjoeii Registered Member

You could use it on demand as a second opinion. I do it that way as well. No problem

3. philebus

Yes, I thought about that, but even if it didn't interfere with Avira, does it really ad any protection if run in real time?

I ask because Avira, like most good antivirus progs, now has pretty decent antispyware and antitrojan protection. Plus I am running a decent firewall (admittedly not version 3 which has too many pop ups for my taste) and a dedicated anti-trojan.

In fact, my question is really more general; do dedicated antispyware programs really have a future now that antivirus software includes antispyware. Sure they once were essential, but are they still?

4. 3xist

3xist Guest

The fact is NO company in the security industry can claim 100% protection. Avira Premium is an awesome, kick ass Antivirus. But again - does not provide 100% protection against every malware threat on the planet, So that's why you have 2nd opinions & alternatives. With malware these days, Even all every AV & AS together can't detect all malware - it is constantly growing and growing, and I can back up that claim.

SAS on-demand is a good choice. :thumb:

5. icr