Do I need Winpatrol

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Huwge, Oct 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    At the moment I run NOD32, Ace Utilities, MSAS realtime plus a firewall. I dont surf any 'dodgy' sites. I have my regular places I visit. I'm not stupid enough to just click on anything email or otherwise. I want to have minimum resources used. Is it worth me running Winpatrol ?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    From a security standpoint adding Winpatrol would be beneficial. As it includes some other security features that the products you listed don't. Whether this is more valuable to you than your system resources would be up to you.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  3. gfdgdf

    gfdgdf Guest

    Not sure, i think MSAS has a pretty substantial overlap with winpatrol.

    Someone please post the comparision link.
     
  4. StevieO

    StevieO Guest

    What chris said, but just beat me ! Anyway it's pretty light on resources, so why not use it. I do and it has alerted me to some useful things.

    I prefered the previous version where you could very easily Enable/Disable the HOSTS file read only protection when you needed to. Either way it's a fine App.


    StevieO
     
  5. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2005
  6. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Personally, I would not want to be without WP. I liked is so much I went to the paid version, which is a one time action, and am glad. It has some good features, and one is to tell you what the application is. Only the Plus version does this adequately.

    Jerry
     
  7. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi All,

    Good for you Jerry enjoy! But as GFDGDF states the overlap between MSAS & WP is allot. Not very efficient use of memory. You should check out the dozleng link, as well as the others.

    Regards,
    rico
     
  8. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    If you're feeling like you might need some additional protection, why not go with something paid like Online Armor that can do more than the free stuff?
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have used WP for quite a while and it has been a good addition to the other security apps I run. It runs very light and is happy to run with everything on my computer. Yo me it is a keeper.
     
  10. gfdgdf

    gfdgdf Guest

    Or you could also go -wild- with Antihook :D
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I have WinPatrol Paid Version and It's a great addition!! And very low on Resources!! And The Free Version is Quite good Also!!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 17, 2005
  12. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for all the posts. Much appreciated. I will check the links out and mull it over for a while :D
     
  13. Vikorr

    Vikorr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    662
    I don't run WP realtime, but it's always on my computer, simply because it has the best startup program management <and services> UI that I've come accross
     
  14. RobZee

    RobZee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    290
    Location:
    Texas
    I have run WP free and upgraded to the paid edition. I find it does alot with minimal cost of resources or $.

    Rob
     
  15. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Hey Vikorr, this brings up a question that I have.

    How can a program maintain the integrity of other startup programs, without running in real-time? Do you mean just the ability to determine which programs run at startup?

    I guess once you startup WinPatrol itself, if there are any programs that have added themself to the startup menu since you last ran it that it would catch them (as well as any services that may have changed from "Manual" to "Automatic", etc.), but I was just curious what you could share about this....
     
  16. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    In a word , Nope !
     
  17. Mysterion

    Mysterion Guest

    Exactly.
     
  18. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    :) Short and to the point.....thanks.

    For now I have decided not to bother with Winpatrol. I have one small problem with MSAS which I asked about in another post about disabling Quicktime. I foll owed the instructions and thought it was sorted. I have Quicktime disabled but if I try viewing a quicktime attachment, MSAS lets it start and places it in the startup even though I told it not to :doubt:
     
  19. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,692
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello Huwge,

    Quicktime sure can be stubborn critter. I use Itunes so I need quicktime & never use it. What I did was use ccleaner (ccleaner > tools > startup) to remove qttask.exe, from startup.
    I know each new version of iTunes, I go through the process again. Itunes & Quicktime come together. I Also do not allow Quicktime to be, my default player. This works for me. If you don't already have a copy of this wonderful freebie get it at:

    http://www.ccleaner.com/

    Good Luck
    rico

    ps. Be safe & make a restore point first, better yet get ERUNT at:
    http://www.larshederer.homepage.t-online.de/erunt/
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.