do i need to backup D:?

Discussion in 'hardware' started by ejames82, Aug 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ejames82

    ejames82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    156
    my computer is a compaq presario with xpsp3 and 256 ram.
    i used driveimage xml to create a backup image of my hard drive C:. do i also need to make a backup of my hard drive D:? i thought the D drive was specifically to make a "one time" copy of recovery CDs, and once that is done (i've already made the recovery CDs), it is no longer of any use, and basically wasted space.
     
  2. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    In that case you can even delete that partition and use the space to increase C:

    But I would suggest yo use that partition for you data, separating system and applications (C: ) and data (D: )
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2008
  3. ejames82

    ejames82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    156
    hurst,
    that's exactly the reason why i posted. my hard drive is aging and i want to have a spare ready to replace it, should it malfunction. i am going to have to double and triple check to make sure that d is strictly recovery dedicated space. it seems like if this is just wasted space/info now, that i could delete that info now, and give me more speed. i hate getting in the owners manual, but it's part of owning a computer.
    thanks for the reply.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    ejames82,

    I agree with HURST.

    http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/notes.htm#13

    I wouldn't buy the new HD until it's needed. Your current HD may last another 5 years. You could then have two old HDs.
     
  5. ejames82

    ejames82 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    156
    Brian K,
    that would be so great if it lasted 5 years.

    i just thought of something else. if i did use the disks for recovery, would the D drive be "pregnable" and have the ability to "pop out" another set of disks? probably not, right? just a thought.
    thanks for the reply, i'll check out your link.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.