Do I need the ATI Catalyst Control Center for playing the Hard Core Games?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Mr. Y, Feb 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr. Y

    Mr. Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    257
    Do I need the ATI Catalyst Control Center for playing the Hard Core Games?

    I would think that games would take and configure whatever resources that they need from the ATI graphics without needing the ATI Catalyst Control Center installed.

    Does the ATI CCC just add unnecessary overhead?

    Any comments would be welcome!
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    The driver I use installs the Control Center, but I dont use it.

    My games work fine though theyre older (UT2004 and CS:S).
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I also have the CCC installed. I have never made any adjustments in it and it doesn't seem to hurt anything so I just leave it alone.
     
  4. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    There are alternative tools for modifying ATI driver settings like ATI Tray Tools which avoid the overheads of CCC (largely due to it using .NET Framework).

    Alternatively, this Taming the Catalyst Control Center article provides a way to reduce CCC's memory usage.
     
  5. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Mr. Y,

    The short answer is no you do not need to run Catalyst Control Center (CCC), except to set your preferences. After I update my ATI drivers I go into CCC, check to make sure no preferences have changed, then disable CCC and several other programs that ATI sets to auto-run.

    Tweakguides.com has good tweaking guides for ATI (and Nvidia).

    Here are the steps I use, taken from the tweak guide:
    - Delete install files
    - Disable ATI Hotkey service

    In CCC:
    - Disable tray menu
    - Display Options > 3D refresh rate override = 60Hz
    - Digital Panel Properties > Attributes - DVI Settings = Untick both
    - 3D > Catalyst A.I. = set to advanced
    - Direct3D Settings = Enable geometry instacing
    - Video > Deinterlacing = set to auto-detect
    - VPU Recover = Untick both options

    Use msconfig.exe to disable the ati startup entries.
    Reboot (this should save 25-40 MB of RAM and make your computer slightly faster).

    I'd still recommend you go through the guide, since your set up may be different than mine.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2008
  6. Mr. Y

    Mr. Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    257
    Thankyou for the replies-

    But will my games run "problem free" with only the ATI Display Driver installed (without installing the ATI CCC)?
     
  7. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    CCC is NOT needed for any ATI videocard to work on games, if you need to adjust aa, af, etc, Ati Tray Tools does the same trick, and about the tweakguide tip, if you have a XT based videocard, dont disable the ATI Hotkey service or overdrive wont kick in properly.

    oldmx
     
  8. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Just disable the relevant services,these are easily reversible so you can experiment.
    CCC is only passive.
     
  9. Mr. Y

    Mr. Y Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    257
    I removed the ATI CCC and SSM from my Gamer Drive and backed it up.

    Now all of a sudden, the Crysis Demo is running very well and without artifacts!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.