Do I need an antivirus with Defensewall?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by acr1965, Oct 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I am running a realtime av now- VIPRE. But do I really need anything other than an on demand scanner? I am thinking MBAM and Hitman Pro on demand and the heck with the real time stuff. My OS is Vista HP 32 bit. I have UAC enabled but running with the Norton UAC Tool.

    95% of my internet browsing is done with Google Chrome. The remaining percentage points are split between FF, Opera and IE8. And I download a lot of programs, videos, mp3's...

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    dont really need any antivirus,only if you feel extra-paranoid or when sending files to friends just for doble checking viruses but with only defensewall will not get infected:thumb:
     
  3. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    +1.
    I use AV only as on-demand scanner, I chose Dr.Web CureIt! because this AV doesn't require installation on your disk. I scan my system ca. once per two months or even rare. :thumb:
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    and i bet your system always at the end is clean;)
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    it is clean at the end ofcourse got to use a scaner or the rollback feature to just clean "frozen malware" as you called /''criple malware'' as i call it :D and then you are for sure clean,but consider that criple malware is not able to do any harm to you so i am clean too,just manually remove those files and what you are just OK:)
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i know,but listen to this i run a piece of malware yestarday just for the heck of it and guez what nod32 and mbam did not/react againts and even after a full scan nothing found clean system but was a malware trap in and runing in memory it was a new variant of what ever i forgot the name:D ''what a memory'':D anyway just use my rollback and bye,bye malware:D got my point,there will be always malware that the regular database anti virus will not flag then DW comes to the rescue:thumb: the malware wanted to connect to the internet and DW FireWall alerted me fast and very easily block with a mouse click;)
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    oh come on people, if we spent as much time discussing global warming as we do this it wouldnt be a damn issue. jmonge, my AV, gives me 99.85 protection. Great but not perfect. DefenseWall, does it or will it completly stop evey piece of malware, 100 percent now. Because if it cant, and it cant, then this is nothing more then a apples to oranges comparsion. It doesnt matter if I use Colgate or Crest toothpaste because both will fight cavities as long as, I brush. Put a solid security product on your PC and you more then likely wont get cavities.
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well I do agree with Opera.
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    proactive defense is not just in case it is the front line of defense with a firewall proper configure,the antivirus is old technologgy and yes we need for just in case did you see the word just in case ssj100:argh: :D
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ofcourse having sandboxie onboard not even temp files are saved:D how can you get infected:) but anyway good discutions:thumb:
     
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    ah i see :D :)
     
  12. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Well, it depends whether you are the only one using the PC. From your security point, you do not need anything else (Hitman Pro + MBAM + A2 Free with A3CMD /U for updates or Avira without realtime guard would do).

    When other PC users receive e-mails with malware this malware will be paralised, but when they forward this to friends, your family members (other PC users) are spreading malware.
    Having a realtime AV will reduce this.

    I allways had a realtime AV, until our ISP provided an extra service (malware scanning on e-mail), now I only use HitmanPro and A2 free on demand on the family PC (which is most used by my wife)
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2009
  13. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Yes you are right, but normally I am a 'safer' user - I don't play with crack, keygens, do not download/install programs from untrusted sources like torrents, other 'tricky' websites - I trust only official websites and before of install any product I do researches about it because I like to be sure in that case.

    When I play with viruses on my VM, then of course DW frozen all malicious files and after terminate by Stop Attack button in DW - these files are still on my PC but they are harmless. If you want get rid of these files and you know how do it via Rollback feature in DW - good for you, but if you don't - that's still OK since these files are harmless. Any time you can run any AS/AV or AM software which you like and get rid of all files which was detected by your based on blacklist software. :thumb:
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yes i agree:thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.