Do I need a new CPU heatsink?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Tru_Snoop, Apr 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tru_Snoop

    Tru_Snoop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Posts:
    56
    Hey guys;

    My PC Specs:
    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (Service Pack 2 installed)
    Case: NETLINK 18IN 350W ATX 3688 CASE /W FRONT USB PORT P4 READY
    Motherboard: SOLTEK KT400-A4 ATX SOCKET A DDR400 AGP4X 5PCI ATA133 USB2.0 W/SOUND
    CPU: AMD ATHLON XP 2100+ 256K 266FSB SOCKET A RETAIL BOX
    CPU Heatsink: VANTEC AEROFLOW SOCKETA cpu cooler TMD 5600RPM 35.5CFM
    Memory: 512MB PC2700 DDR333 SAMSUNG RAM
    Video Card: ABITR9550-128CDT RADEON 9550 128MB DDR AGP8X
    Hard Drives: 2 X ( WD CAVIAR 80GB INT ATA/100 HD 3.5LP 9MS 8MB 7200RPM OEM)
    Anti-virus: Kaspersky Antivirus Personal 5.0.121
    Firewall: Zone Alarm Pro 5.5.062.011
    cASE FANS = 4 FANS (2 INFLOW, 2 OUTFLOW)


    I have installed Ventec Aeroflow SocketA heatsink, as I have mentioned earlier. I bought this heatsink from "NCIX" few months ago to replace my stock heatsink. I used the "Thermal Greese" that came with this cooler. I used only small amount of this greese and spread it evenly on the CPU die. I read the instructions online. Also, the heatsink is seated properly, as I checked it few times.

    However, my CPU temperature is too high at the moment. Here is the "EVEREST" summary:

    Field Value
    Sensor Properties
    Sensor Type ITE IT8705F, National LM90 (ISA 290h, SMBus 4Ch)

    Temperatures
    Motherboard 36 °C (97 °F)
    CPU 56 °C (133 °F)
    WDC WD800JB-00JJA0 32 °C (90 °F)

    Cooling Fans
    CPU 3013 RPM
    Chassis 3125 RPM

    Voltage Values
    CPU Core 1.74 V
    +2.5 V 2.54 V
    +3.3 V 3.31 V
    +5 V 5.05 V
    +12 V 12.48 V
    +5 V Standby 5.03 V
    VBAT Battery 2.03 V

    As you guys can see my CPU's temp is 56 degrees C, and I just started my computer after it been off for whole night. I have only few things opened right now, for example, "Mozila browser, EVEREST, text file, Zone Alarm, Kaspersky, MSN, HP printer (they are on in startup window)."

    My computer crashes when I try to play any music or video in windows media player or any other player. Also, it freezes when I try to play NHL 2005.

    What should do? Do I need to buy new heatsink? Help guys..............

    thank you.
    Edit/Delete Message
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2005
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    While I gander at some of those specs....I'll ask some of the non-pc questions.

    Good airflow in and around your PC ?
    No heat sources close by ?
    Approximate room temperature where PC\Mobo resides ?
     
  3. zoriv

    zoriv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Posts:
    27


    is the cooler appropriate for yr pc?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas

    Just for information. My AMD AthlonXP 2000+ has been running at 63 degrees c for three plus years.
     
  5. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    it depends on the situations you have been through...if you overclock and stuff then temps are of an important issue...or you will not get high enough. if you don't overclock then mostly your cpu will last like 5-7 years even when you will have 63C. amd had always have a good rep with their cpu's...and they have now Venice cpu's ... the top of the bill again (3th year in a row)...respect :)
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    My AMD64 always runs at a maximum of 53 degrees, and in rare cases, 57 :)

    Normally its around 45-50 degrees :)
     
  7. hadi

    hadi Guest

  8. Jack 2

    Jack 2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Hi i hope that u already found a solution to your problems if not i may have a couple off tips.
    make sure your p.c. is not build in to place where there is a limitted airflow if that is the case use a case fane to re establish the air flow.
    Make sure that u r using a A.M.D.cooler matching your cpu.
    Salman make.s a great A.M.D. cooler.
    How ever your cpu temp is not at critical value.s.
    A.M.D.processors are working at a higher temperatur raid than Intel.
    The freeziong problems are most likely a problem in the internal memory module,s.
    Disconnect all cards and memory module,s than reconnect them try all ide connections and power suplies.
    Make sure your p.c. is not static and look for power losses if that is the case u can make a earth connection to your p.c.
    I hope u can use these options how ever i am a hobby computerist so my knowledge is limitted.
    With regards Jack 2
     
  9. AirJer

    AirJer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Illinois
    1: How are you measuring the temperature? BIOS? Display on front of the case that you hooked up yourself? Third party software? Are any of them measuring the temperature at the diode?
    2: How many chassis fans do you have?
    3: Turn your cpu fan up to full speed and check the temperature again.
    4: Try Artic Silver 5, check with the cpu manufacturer first as I've never used it on anything except AMD64 cpus.
    5: Any blue screens of death?

    I did a little experiment on my last two builds, both identical hardware:

    Aspire Superalien towers: 6 80mm fans each
    ASUS A8V Deluxe revision 2.0 motherboards
    AMD64 3500+ Winchester core cpus
    74gb 10000 RPM Raptor hard drives SATA
    MSI 6800 GTs-power hog
    Corsair PC3200/DDR 400 TwinX memory with heat spreaders
    OCZ 520 Watt Power Supplys
    Thermaltake Venus 12 cpu fans
    Round cables for cdroms/dvds/floppy

    I used thermal grease on one, and Artic Silver 5 on the other. The one with thermal grease idles at 38C, and the one with Arctic Silver 5 idles at 31C.
    So I unseated the one cpu, cleaned it up, and applied Artic Silver 5. It now idles at 31C too. My cpu voltage is less then yours though, 1.45V.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    To me your temperature for an AMD is just fine. Make sure every now and then that you clean the heat sink and fan with a brush. Being a AMD I wouldn't remove the Heat sink and Fan (seen a few crumble when being placed back on) too often/at all.

    Hope this helps…

    Cheers :D
     
  11. dread

    dread Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    That Arctic Silver is good but voids the warranty on amd's. Check out http://amdmb.com/ and their forums. They have allot of good info and help.
     
  12. AirJer

    AirJer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yeah, I should have mentioned that. Sorry.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.