Do all firewalls slow down browsing?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by figueroa4, Jul 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. figueroa4

figueroa4 Registered Member

I am new to dsl and firewalls. When we signed up with RoadRunner we were expecting things to fly compared to dial up. But as soon as it was setup for us we downloaded their free offer of Etrust EZ Firewall and AV. It didn't really go as fast as we expected (except with downloads). We were disappointed. But then yesterday I had to reformat my hd and had to connect to the internet in order to download the firewall again. I then noticed how fast it went. Then once I had the firewall installed and running everything went slow again. So I turned it off and it went fast. Are all firewalls like this? If so what's the point of getting faster connection if the firewall just slows you back down? :doubt:

Thanks,
    Bethany

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

No not all firewalls slow down you browsing noticibly. I am useing zone alarm 5.0 and I don't notice a slowdown. but what you should try is getting free trials of a few firewalls and see which one works best for you. but be sure to not have two firewalls on your pc at the same time. They don't work well like that. some free firewalls can be found here and here

3. CrazyM

CrazyM Firewall Expert

Hi Bethany

... and welcome to Wilders :)

A firewall should not have any noticeable impact on your connection.
    Does your version of Etrust EZ Firewall have any content filtering (cookies, ads, active content)? These types of features may impact browsing/page loading.

Regards,

CrazyM

4. iceni60

iceni60 ( ^o^)