DNS servers keep changing to obtain automatically

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by david banner, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    I have my DNS set to my vpn DNS servers . But they keep changing back to obtain DNS automatically? Des anyone now why this is
     
  2. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    It's probably DHCP renegotiation. What OS?
     
  3. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Win 7 64 bit. What can i do about it, only happening recently
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    Perhaps making the IP static along with the DNS servers would solve it? In my experience a router will not override a static IP.
     
  5. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    Maybe some Windows update changed something?

    I do recommend, if only as backup protection, that you change the DNS server(s) specified in your router to something third-party. Definitely don't specify your ISP's DNS server(s)! Even Google is better than that ;) Maybe use OpenDNS. Then edit properties for LAN adapter, select the option to just obtain IP address, and specify the same third-party DNS server(s) that you used in the router.

    I'm not sure about the VPN TAP adapter. Maybe you can do the same thing there, and specify your VPN's DNS server(s). But to be sure, I recommend using Windows firewall rules to specify what can be hit through which adapter. Basically, you make the LAN adapter Private, and the TAP adapter Public. You allow only connections to the VPN server(s) on Private networks. On Public networks, you allow all outgoing traffic, except for traffic to DNS servers that you don't want used (ISP ones and third-party ones that you're using without VPN).
     
  6. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    491
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    Similar issue here but not VPN related.
    I use DNS Jumper to set my preferred DNS

    On one of my W7 machines only , it periodically reverts to the ISP assigned DNS.
    It never happens on my other W7 machine , which has very similar spec and set-up , and never on any of my Linux rigs .

    Its not a big deal , just irritating and baffling ....

    Setting my chosen DNS at router level is not an option ( it is locked out on the ISP supplied router ).
     
  7. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Thanks been looking for something like DNS Jumper. It does not warn if it changes back does it?
     
  8. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    491
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    No , it doesn't.
    I had a look at the user options and that does not appear , only disabling of tray notifications , not what is notified .

    I can see that it would be useful.
     
  9. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Thanks. Malwarebytes says it is a PUP?
     
  10. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Get airVPN and activate the network lock. Problems solved.
     
  11. quietman

    quietman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Posts:
    491
    Location:
    Earth .... occasionally
    Really ?
    That surprises me . I use MBAM free and it hasn't flagged anything , and all looked good at VT.
    Perhaps it appears too much like DNS jacking malware ?
    ( BTW , the dev mentions issues with Zonealarm , but that is all .)
     
Loading...