DNS change within firefox.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by The Red Moon, May 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Hi,
    When i was using comodo dragon web browser i was able to use the comodo dns service just within the browser itself.

    Is it possible to implement the same within firefox and use a dns service just within firefox.?

    I know a simple solution would be to just use dragon instead but i actually like and prefer firefox.

    Any suggestions please.

    Thank You.
     
  2. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Just change your DNS server settings under inernet options.

    -http://securedns.dns.com/windows/-
     
  3. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    I cannot do that directly i have tried.I am using a mobile broadband 3g connection and it will not permit me to change my dns.

    Thanks.
     
  4. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    That's odd. Doesn't it have some not so visible setting that allows you to define different DNS servers?
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    No it appears not.
    It always reverts back to the isp,s dns whenever i change them within windows.
    I cannot find anything within the network interface to change them either.

    Thanks.
     
  6. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520

    After you change the dns create a desktop shortcut for that connection. Next time you try connecting to the internet using the shortcut you have created instead of the shortcut created by the software provided by your 3g service provider.
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 28, 2013
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    @siljaline, just FYI thats for changing proxy settings not the DNS.

    Proxy vs DNS
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    That would be correct, was simply adding that screengrab in the event the OP was not aware of these -
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.