dive letters changed getting crashes

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by brummie, May 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brummie

    brummie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Dear list,

    Hi there got acronis to restore 2 os's, I have two os's installed on two separate drives one is tuned to music one to graphics, both when booted seprately thought they were c drive.

    Now I have imaged them and put the two drives to a striped raid, for speed, I created a partition and got the first parition to run fine as the drive letters havent changed from c. However the second drive now comes up as D drive. Now when I put the image back obviously all the drives paths are wrong in image, so I have to reinstall some software however now there are sum elements like svhost .exe and ntdll.dll are not changed and looking at the errors they think are still on c drive.

    any one know how to correct this as I dont want to do a fresh install thats the idea of a image product. Can this be achieved in image home ??.

    anyone help me on this one.

    cheers

    brummie
     
  2. brummie

    brummie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    changing drive letter on second partition force to c drive or change progshelp please

    Dear list,

    Hi there got acronis to restore 2 os's, I have two os's installed on two separate drives one is tuned to music one to graphics, both when booted seprately thought they were c drive.

    Now I have imaged them and put the two drives to a striped raid, for speed, I created a partition and got the first parition to run fine as the drive letters havent changed from c. However the second drive now comes up as D drive. Now when I put the image back obviously all the drives paths are wrong in image, so I have to reinstall some software however now there are sum elements like svhost .exe and ntdll.dll are not changed and looking at the errors they think are still on c drive.

    any one know how to correct this as I dont want to do a fresh install thats the idea of a image product. Can this be achieved in image home ??.

    anyone help me on this one.

    cheers

    brummie
     
  3. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    Re: changing drive letter on second partition force to c drive or change progshelp please

    you have the exact same problem i have- its the only reason i cant use the image i restored- all my programs point to E, but windows changed it to D

    i wish i knew of a solution ;(
     
  4. brummie

    brummie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Re: changing drive letter on second partition force to c drive or change progshelp pl

    I hope we get one here, I am sure its fixable but how I dont know how. I has looked at some stuff but its doesnt answer it, I rekon its gunna be a refedit somewhere, if only I could see all the commands that say c in the registry then I can change them all to d, so its looking the write place, I can get most of it working write, but then there a few that dont and wont change, how annoying, I got the imaging software to get away from the need for clean reinstalls.

    cheers

    brummie
     
  5. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Re: changing drive letter on second partition force to c drive or change progshelp please

    I don't know if this will help, but do a search for COA32 (Change Of Address).
    Here's a start - http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,1197172,00.asp

    Looks like latest is COA2.
     
  6. brummie

    brummie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
  7. brummie

    brummie Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Re: changing drive letter on second partition force to c drive or change progshelp pl

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/223188/EN-US/

    if the drives letters are just wrong but you can boot up, boot up to safe mode, log on as an administrator and follow the article above, worked for me first time.

    cheers

    brummie
     
  8. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    Re: changing drive letter on second partition force to c drive or change progshelp please

    Ok- I restored my image, but it wasnt bootable- so I did a repair install of windows, which then was bootable, but the drive had changed from E to D so nothing worked- but fortunately thanks to the guide posted above, I got it changed back to E, and now all my programs work.

    There are a few odd things though, like when I click adminstrative tools> disk managment, it says failed to load snap in, and wont work.

    Also, when I went to try and install service pack 1, it wont work, saying "windows server 2003 has been partially updated, and may not work properly"

    I tried doing a sfc (system file check), and a couple other things, but I just cant get it installed, does anyone have an idea of what may be wrong?
    thanks in advance
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    brummie, can you please clarify if you can boot your second Windows?
    Please let us know if you receive any error messages on bootup.

    Could you please also tell us the version of Windows you use?
    Why do you think that second Windows assigned its boot volume D: letter?

    chrome_sturmen, could you please clarify what exact error messages you received after the restoration(before you repaired Windows)?

    Thank you.
    --
    Anton Sherkhonov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.