Displaying a scheduled scan

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by geronimo, Dec 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. geronimo

    geronimo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    :cool: Hi! I'm new to NOD32, and I just configured a daily scan, which occured on schedule this morning. My problem is the scan was progressing(HD activity), but there was no visual display of the progress. Is there a way to monitor a scheduled scan?
     
  2. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
  3. geronimo

    geronimo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    :cool: That's disappointing! Even the chinziest of anti-malware prgms provide as a minimum, an animated task bar icon, as an alert, that a background task is in progress. The better ones provide the option for on screen monitioring.
     
  4. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    To me its not a big deal, since the scan always seem to run. I have enough icons, so I can do without another scan status icon. I really like that the program does its job without being intrusive.

    If you must, you can look in the control center log window and see that a scan is running. Clicking on the log file also will tell you if there are any issues.
     
  5. geronimo

    geronimo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    :cool: To each, his own! Personally, If I happen to be at my PC, and abrupt, prolonged HD activity occurs, I want to determine if it's normal or an attack! A simple alert would take out some of the guess work
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2006
  6. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    There you have a point. This happens with me and diskeeper version 11 which does a lot of I/O without any icon. At times I wonder if the diskeeper I/O overhead is worse than the possible fragmentation.

    ESET could have a scan status icon as an option.:)
     
  7. geronimo

    geronimo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    This unrelated, but I trashed Diskeeper a long time ago(bloated code, hi cpu overhead)for PerfectDisk. Try it, you'll like it.
     
  8. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Diskeeper works quite good if you just set it to defrag when the screensaver is active.
    But yeah use that tool, it was made for the sole purpose of letting you know when a scan is about to begin, a feature I miss in NOD32 too :)
     
  9. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
  10. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    To all:

    Let's get back to the Displaying a scheduled scan discussion and take the other product chit chat to a more appropriate forum Please.

    Thanks,
    Bubba
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.