dislike all Av's

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by maddawgz, Feb 9, 2019.

  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,204
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    The only time I ever contracted any real malware (trojan) was on my old laptop which ran Vista. I was using Google Translate at the time and I tried to click a pop-up off. The Google filter warned me malware had passed onto my computer. I used Norton AV at the time. It didn't find anything even after a full scan. Neither did Spybot S&D. SUPERAntiSpyware actually did find it (this was 10 years ago). I uninstalled Norton and Spybot the next day and never used them again. I've used several AV's since including MSE. Apart from MSE, the only things those other AV's found on my computers were harmless system drivers (false-positives). I don't miss Windows at all.
     
  2. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    @guest ,

    I'm a Windows 7 user, but what about malicious scripts ?
     
  3. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    505
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    I recently installed Avast Free on a Windows XP Pro, Desktop; since it seemed to slow the system down I decided to uninstall it. That's where the fun begin. It was the most challenging software to uninstall I have ever experienced. I could not find an uninstall option in the software itself, tried Revo Uninstall Pro to no avail. When I googled "how to uninstall Avast" I found that I wasn't the only person that had experienced difficulty unistalling Avast software. Problem solved by downloading an uninstall program from Avast to do the job. After uninstalling Avast I noticed my Windows Search function wouldn't work but was able to fix it so everything is now back to normal. Avast may be a very good anti-virus program for some people but be warned an Uninstallation may be very difficult.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2019
  4. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,176

    Avast doesnt support Windows XP and neither should you.
     
  5. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,910
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    If you had upgraded to Win 10, WD would protect you since it uses AMSI to scan scripts sandboxed in memory prior to execution. However, Win 7 does not have AMSI and therefore WD is not using it to scan scripts.
     
  6. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks ill give that a shot! ..everyone seems to slow me down.



    I'm doing that now, just using malwarebytes running on demand, you can certainly tell the difference. Just have to watch what sites i go to.
     
  7. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    ok trying this one now! thanks. ......ones ive used are AVG free....Avira free, Avira is huge !!! Avast free, and 360. Nope didn't like Comodo lol....... Any on demand ones i can run without install?....not Dr Web though. Like just open run shut!!....

    I found this.
    https://www.geckoandfly.com/9751/free-portable-antivirus-software-microsoft-safety-scanner/



    I'm Liking Avira pc cleaner, ill keep that i think run it like monthly!
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2019
  8. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    505
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    The older versions of Avast, one of which I installed, does. Or, at least it said it did. And I only use the Windows XP computer because of the older programs I have on it. Otherwise, I use my Laptop which has Widows 10. Thanks for the reply.
     
  9. Eggnog

    Eggnog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    129
    Location:
    United States
    Hear, hear! I've used MX since MX-16. It's the primary on all of my home machines except for one laptop I keep Win 10 on primarily for MS Office, TurboTax and the crowd favorite, MS updates. I'm using MX 18.1 now. My MS Office usage is getting less and less at home since I've started using Softmaker Office, which hasn't given me any compatibility problems so far going back and forth between it and MS Office from work.

    For what I use Win 10 for any more, WD is more than enough.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    On mx18.1 as well,
    I have specific table templates on Words and I never found any alternatives that respect them, the tables always got wrong when switching.

    Sure it is.
     
  11. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    Any word document that uses advanced formatting, such as dynamic tables, will not work correctly in any other office suite and I have tested many of them. Some even have trouble if your document uses headers and footers.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.