Disk is full.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Bogene2020, Jul 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bogene2020

    Bogene2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I get the error below and my backup fails ... I have an external harddrive that is 232Gigs and the drive I am backing has 63 Gigs of data .. What Am I doing wrong ? Thanks

    Disk is full.
    You must free additional disk space to continue. You can either empty the Recycle Bin or delete old data files.
    Please press Retry to try again or press Cancel to cancel the operation and stop.: Retry/Cancel
     
  2. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Well, since your Recycle Bin is probably NOT on your external drive, this sounds like you could be trying to store the backup on the source drive.
    Go back and recheck all the selections you’ve made.
     
  3. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Well I just ran a test to see if TI would really issue a warning message referring to the Recycle Bin - and it does.
    So … what’s the total size of your source disk and what’s the free space on your target disk?
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    If it's not a full wastebasket take heart -- this message can erroneously occur in Windows when it becomes confused about a drive. Best thing is to disconnect the external drive and reconnect. That usually works. If not then a reboot usually clears things up -- just like using the older version of Windows or an IPOD ;-)

    You can also take a look at the Recylced folder. If you use the drive on diff machines, you can get a bunch of "wastbasket" system sub folders under Recycled.
     
  5. Bogene2020

    Bogene2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Re: E00040004: Disk is Full Error

    Thanks .. I have rebooted the computer previously and I have disconnected and reconected the external drive at least once .

    Os is Win XP
    The source drive is 240 gigs ang 75 gigs used
    The external drive that I am backing up to is 232 gigs
     
  6. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Are you sure you haven't selected a sector by sector backup?
     
  7. Bogene2020

    Bogene2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I have attached a copy of what the backups look like .. Is that the way it should look ?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    What are the sizes of some of those files? What kind of backup are you trying to run? INCs and DIFFs will eventually fill any disk.
     
  9. Bogene2020

    Bogene2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I did a full backup first and then incremental backups but the first fullbackup showed up in pieces like the image showed . I expected it to be one lump ..
     
  10. Bogene2020

    Bogene2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Those files average about 4gigs each
     
  11. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    My guess is that your drive is formatted FAT32 which will only allow a max file size of ~4 GB.
     
  12. Bogene2020

    Bogene2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    You are right it is Fat32 and when you look at the image you will see that it says there is free space but yet the pie chart is all blue ..

    So how should I go about fixing the issue and thanks very much . I have had this problem for months and I have tickets open with Acronis but no reply from them since .. Thanks Again ..
     

    Attached Files:

  13. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    You have free space, but only 146 MB.
    Depending on what your backup needs are, you have different solutions. Run another FULL and start over; copy the backup files to another disk if you want to save them and start over, but … your disk is full and something needs to go.
    If you don’t want all the small pieces, you could delete the files, convert to NTFS and, again, start over.
     
  14. Bogene2020

    Bogene2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I def want to convert to NTFS because the data I am backing up is only 70g but maybe because the drive is in Fat32 I keep getting the message that the drive is full ...

    Do you know any utility I can use to reformat the drive ?
     
  15. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Just Google 'convert fat ntfs' and you'll find instructions. They can also be found on the Microsoft web site - but converting will not get you any more space on the drive. If your disk only has 70 GB in use and you're getting that many 4 GB segments created please go back and make sure you're not selecting a 'sector-by-sector' backup. gotta run ...
     
  16. Bogene2020

    Bogene2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Thank You Very Very Much
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.