Disgusting Service.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by wolfie75uk, Mar 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    It is possible that this problem is not a strictly Eset one, it is possible that some of our systems have a Microsoft component that isn't as well as it might be.

    As an example I've gone back to v3 and my recent upgrade/install of Visual Studio (the debugging wizard runs in the background permanently) is reporting that v3 ekrnl is causing an unhandled exception - except I'm not seeing that with the program itself.

    As Winsock is easily broken by Microsoft upgrades or other programs that use TCPIP and either add to or replace the original Winsock, it might be as an example something like this that is causing the problem on selected systems with v4.

    Colin
     
  2. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    I f that was the case, why does ver3 work perfectly and ver4 is useless. Even if you are right, why was it released when this fault was found in Beta and RC.
     
  3. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I did have some problems with v3 with one build upgrade. I'm not saying I'm right, just it might explain why a number of people have a problem like myself and others don't.

    I also had a slowing of connection with very short disconnects, but as that was on W7 beta, I couldn't be sure if it was W7 causing a problem or Eset.

    My network card is a Broadcom Netlink Gigabit, my router a Draytek Vigor 2820Vn and a Motorola Cable modem. XPproSP3

    Annoyingly or not on my laptop running VistaSP1 I am having no problems at all with v4.

    Which points to something interesting as W7 is installed on the desktop, that could mean those wondering about it being hardware casusing the problem could be onto something. May be motherboard, chipset and BIOS should be taken into account.

    Colin
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2009
  4. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    Build specs( thought it was realtek but it is not)
    Motherboard
    MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL MS-7253

    NIC
    Description VIA Rhine II Compatible Fast Ethernet Adapter


    O/S
    Windows Vista Home Premium Service Pack 1
    Build Lab 6001.vistasp1_gdr.080917-1612
     
  5. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,621
    Location:
    DC Metro Area

    When I tried ESS beta V4 on my system and learned that it totally prevented my Vista 64 bit PC from accessing the internet (The RC and final V4 do the same), I began trying other security programs.

    I have now tried on my PC:

    Kaspersky Internet Security 2009,

    Norton Internet Security 2009,

    Avira Anti-Virus Premium,

    Avira Premium Security Suite,

    Vipre,

    Outpost Firewall Pro,

    Comodo Internet Security Pro

    Panda Internet Security 2009,

    AVG Identity Protection,

    Zone Alarm Extreme Security,

    A2 Anti Malware Pro,and

    Super AntiSpyware Pro.

    NONE OF THESE PROGRAMS EFFECTED MY INTERNET CONNECTION IN ANY WAY!@!!

    So let us not confuse the issue with trying to find a combination of defective hardware and/or other bugged software that might be causing our problem that makes ESS V4 unuseable. In view of the above it seems highly unlikely that faulty hardware or another program is the cause of our inability to access the internet with ESS V 4.

    .
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2009
  6. Adramalech

    Adramalech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    79
    Some of you people realize that most NIC chipsets are either built by Intel or Broadcom, right?
     
  7. martinrabson

    martinrabson Guest

    Depends if you mean the editorial content? :argh: I would say it is in that respect.

    I've been trying to break my internet connection, messing with all my HomeHub and network settings but it still just works.

    My Nic and Router

    Realtek RTL8168B/8111B Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Onboard motherboard chip

    Product Name: BT Home Hub 15
    Serial Number: *************
    Software Release: 6.2.6.E
    Software Variant: BK
    Boot Loader Version: 2.0.7
    Product Code: 36308970
    Board Name: BANT-Z
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2009
  8. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    hawki, none of them are using the brand new windows filtering platform for more efficient filtering, and the ones that are have probably already worked out their teething bugs.
     
  9. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    I nearly downloaded the trial via the marketing emmail - think I will stick with AVAST for the time being.
     
  10. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    Honestly..

    I dont understand caab.

    I am a customer.
    I pay my bill.
    Thats my part what I have to do.

    I expect a working system for that.
    If I want something else.. I use Norton or any other product

    About Eset statement:
    Its just NOT true.

    I was beta-Tester too.
    And there were MANY threaths about not working firewalls. Broken connections and and and.
    Example: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=233839

    So if Eset even starts to -selfcensoring- around.
    I will really look for another company.
     
  11. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,621
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Ah.

    Does that give you any clue on what the source of the problem might be on the PC's where V4 prevents internet access?
     
  12. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    I've never worked with WFP so no, but I believe Microsoft are changing it again in Vista SP2, so ESET need to fix this + make SP2 compatibility, well I would be pissed with having to keep all this compatibility in my program. Fortunately I could say "upgrade to SP2/SP1 or don't use my program" but in ESET's case that isn't really a solution, especially considering the upgrade to SP2 will take time. This is what I see appears to be slowing down the release of the next build.
     
  13. jspratjr

    jspratjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Currently running:
    Vista Ultimate SP2 Beta, 32-bit, Realtek 8169/8110 (Gigabit-driver 1/20/09) - no problem
    Windows 7 Beta, 64-bit, Realtek 8168/8111 (Gigabit-driver 2/26/09) - no problem.

    Personally I think it's a faulty uninstall of Version 3....
     
  14. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,621
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I can assure you that a faulty uninstall of Version 3 is NOT the cause.

    I have tried V4 beta, RC , and final.

    Each of these borked my internet access and the only way I could re-establish my connection was by reinstalling Vista. A simple uninstall or System Restore could not repair the damage. I stopped using ESET SS and starting trying other solutions after V4 beta borked my PC. So at least for the RC and final versions they were installed on a clean machine.


    .
     
  15. jspratjr

    jspratjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    "borked my PC"...lol...that's good. I'm sorry, outside of the OS itself, I have NEVER had a piece of software force a total rebuild of a machine, let alone 2 times. Since others have gotten it to work without a problem (up to 4 different machines here, 2 desktops (1 Vista/1 Windows 7) and 2 laptops (1 Vista/1 Windows XP), I'd seriously consider investing in an uninstall program (a good one) and assume it's a hardware issue.
     
  16. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    5,621
    Location:
    DC Metro Area

    If I were you I'd seriously consider investing in a copy of How To Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie. I think that's the closest thing you will find to an uninstall program for arrogance.


    Are you suggesting that reinstalling an OS will not sufficiently uninstall a previously installed programo_Oo_O?


    And please forgive me for not being sufficiently precise. What V4 borked was my network/internet connection -- not my entire PC. Repairing it did not require a "total rebuild" -- reinstalling my OS and drivers was sufficient to re-establish my internet connection.

    .
    __________________________________

    "borked

    1. v. past tense. to have broken something, especially regarding technology.

    2. adj. broken.

    Examples:

    1. The Internet connection is broken because I just borked the firewall.

    2. The mail server is borked."

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=borked
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2009
  17. jerick70

    jerick70 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    53
    I wanted to put my 2 cent in about Eset's service. I've had excellent response from Eset's technical support when I have had issues. I am the IT manager for a small company with 85 installs of Eset Antivirus Business Edition and have had excellent results with their product and customer service.

    Now for ESS v4 and EAV v4. I have been through many of the betas and the RC of both of these products (the consumer versions). I have installed ESS v4 on over 30 systems (at work, at home, and for friends) and have only seen issues with the https scanning module. None of my installed systems have had the issue with losing network or Internet connectivity. At work, I am currently rolling out EAV v4 onto my network and have not had one issue with the rollout or the day to day use of EAV. So all isn't bad with Eset. I am a happy customer and will stay a customer for quite a long time.
     
  18. gberns

    gberns Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    I am just a lone personal user of a home computer who is dumbly proceeding along without a problem in the world. If it wasn't for all the bitching in this forum I would think V4 is another Eset wonderful product because, for me, it is.
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,144
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    It seems to me, and I have no horse in this race. That most of the posters supporting ESETs products & actions here. Have way under 100 posts (a lot 5 posts & under) & join dates of Feb. to March 09. :doubt:
     
  20. jerick70

    jerick70 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    53
    So our opinions don't count? :rolleyes:
     
  21. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,144
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    I leave it for you & others to make your own conclusions. I made an observation.
     
  22. jerick70

    jerick70 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    53
    I do see your point. I guess I am going to have to stop being a lurker and become more active in this forum and others that I frequent... :ninja: :D
     
  23. gberns

    gberns Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    "It seems to me, and I have no horse in this race. That most of the posters supporting ESETs products & actions here. Have way under 100 posts (a lot 5 posts & under) & join dates of Feb. to March 09. "

    I have 107 posts and joined in 2004. How do I fit your picture?
     
  24. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    I have 221 posts so how do I fit in ?
     
  25. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    You don't, you're all fired for being useless. Be more active!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.