Disgusted w/NOD32

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by meburke, Apr 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. meburke

meburke Registered Member

I'm about to give up on all the AV makers. Norton and McAffee give a false sense of security, Kaspersky interrupts internet connections and now NOD32 won't update and nowhere can I find a clue why not... the FAQ is lame and and seems to be authored by the marketing department.

Is it too much to ask for a manufacturer to provide complete, easy-to-use instructions in an easy-to-find location? I'm a computer tech, been one for 40 years now, and if it isn't easy for my customers to use and keep up-to-date, I don't want it on their systems.

Basically, neither the beta version nor the trial version will update for my Toshiba Satellite running XP and connecting via ADSL through SBC. All previous AV products I've tested have been removed, including the brain-damaged EZTrust stuff from CA (after much registry editing, I finally got it gone!)

I would like just one dependable AV product that I can recommend to my customers without embarrasment.

If anyone else has had this problem lately, and if they've found a fix or workaround that is dependable, then PLEASE let me know.

(BTW, I suppose the posts I've seen saying that buying the commercial version of NOD32 eliminates the problem could count, but I hate to do that based on my belief that trial versions are supposed to be designed to provide users with a happy experience using the product, and if I'm not happy with the trial versions I don't really trust the commercial version either.)

Thanks,

Mike

2. roady

roady Registered Member

Did you try Avast Home Edition?
    Not so advanced as their Pro version,but easy to manage,even for not-so-experienced customers...

3. Benvan45

Benvan45 Registered Member

If you are looking for a simple, powerful and automated AV scanner, I'd go for Dr. Web........great and fast program.

Good luck,

Putin ;)