Disappearing System Restore Points

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by buzzmag, Aug 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. buzzmag

    buzzmag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    USA
    Vista Home Premium

    I use Acronis for imaging and incremental backups, and because System Restore hasn't had a negative affect on my system, I use it for occasional quick fixes.

    Lately, when I go to System Restore to create a current version, it tells me I have no older restore points despite having created one a few days earlier. I have plenty of disk space and memory and I am not dual booting with XP.

    Anyone else experience this and know what the problem is?
     
  2. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello buzzmag,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please clarify if you performed a restore of your system drive using Acronis True Image?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. buzzmag

    buzzmag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    USA
    No, I did not. I created a restore point after an image restore and checked a day or two later to find that the restore point was gone. I'm not attributing the problem to ATI. I posted here and on other forums to see if there was a cause or a solution in the event it's a Vista problem but none forthcoming.
     
  5. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    If there is not enough space for restore points the last one disappears automatically.
    You can change the space in %-values. It is independent of your whole diskspace. It is an own area you have to adjust.
    But I don't know where you can find it in an English Windows (I have a German Win).

    EDIT:
    Restore points can be created manually and automatically by the system. The system decides himself to do that.
    If there are many installs of programs, driver, etc the system creates always a restore point. And then it may happen that your manually restore point is gone.
     
  6. buzzmag

    buzzmag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    USA
    MrMorse,

    Thank you. I've already increased the set aside space for restore points but that didn't help and I haven't installed any new apps. The next thing I plan to check is all types of Vista updates to determine if they may be causing the problem. I know it's a shot in the dark but it can't hurt to check. I'll post back the next time I install Vista updates.
     
  7. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    An ambitious duty ;)

    But I think it is interesting for us all. THX
     
  8. XS11E

    XS11E Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I have no idea what the problem might be but I do experience what you're seeing.

    I'm running Vista Ultimate 64 bit and Acronis 10. No matter how many restore points are available in Viata, after I create an image and then restore that image there are NO restore points in the restored image. I've learned to immediately turn on system restore and create a restore point as soon as I boot a newly restored image.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello XS11E,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please be aware that the issue with Vista System Restore Points missing after restore of a system partition is being worked upon by our Development Team. Unfortunately, it seems the issue is quite complicated, so the fix will take some time to create.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  10. Faust

    Faust Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    258
    I just thought it was a consequence of restoring an image. As far as I was aware restore points have never been available on my system even as far back as XP.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.