direct connect rules

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by trevor12, May 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trevor12

    trevor12 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Czech republic, Prague
    Hi, I try this good soft but I am novice with firewalls. Is it possible to explain how can I define rules for dc++ client (direct connect p2p ) ? I saw in Log¨, that communication with other users started by dc client use whole range of port, the way for solution thus not same like for example Bit Torrent client (to define some ports for communication).
     
  2. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hi trevor12,

    following this link :
    http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/f...&faqnr=11&catnr=2&prog=1&lang=en&onlynewfaq=1

    the default port for DC++ is 1412 in both TCP and UDP.

    You have to open this port when DC++ is launched, to do that, create the following rule :

    Flow : inbound/outbound
    protocol : TCP & UDP
    Left area : your IP, and port 1412

    Then click "application" button while editing the rule and select DC++ client.
    After the rule is finished, remove the red icon which means "block", because you want to allow.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    regards,

    gkweb.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. trevor12

    trevor12 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Czech republic, Prague
    thank you very much I solve the problem to be in active mode on dc hubs with full searchability and dl/ul ability with other users - I inspired by your advice created 2 new rules for 1412 port (tcp and udp) for client and server from my view and then for each of this rules clicked on button Application and add DC to left space with Edit to IP range 1 - 3392 (max) and with blank space @IP. On these circumstances it seems to be ok in active mode. Is it dangerous rule ?
     
  5. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    If i have understood right, it isn't dangerous but necessary for your application to works correctly.
    About your "range" 1 - 3392 i don't know what you mean, if you mean you allow DC++ to access remote ports 1 to 3392, then you won't be able to access to someone who have set DC++ up to another higher port ?

    I have not DC++ but following the link above, a single rule (or two) is sufficient
    to allow inbound/outbound traffic toward/from your local DC++ port which is by default 1412.

    regards,

    gkweb.
     
  6. trevor12

    trevor12 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Czech republic, Prague
    i tested above mentioned rules and if I use your rule (to set port 1412 for dc) it is quite ok, but I am not able to search in dc++ client (same if i use my rule with 1-3392 ports open). Thus the question is if exist a rule for active mode in dc. At this time I am only able be on dc in passive mode (this mod seems to work ok in dc). I try modify that rules but if anybody has some rules for active mod in dc (with serach function on hub working), I will appreciate to help me.
     
  7. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    When you try to do something which doesn't work with DC++, what displays the Look'n'Stop journal ?
     
  8. doctor-x

    doctor-x Guest

    I have the same problem.When I connect in active mode,I can't do any search in DC++.
    Any help lease?
    Thnaks in advance
     
  9. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hi,

    same question as above then, what appears in the logs ?
    Isn't there an official forum for DC++ where to request networking details ?

    regards,

    gkweb.
     
  10. Picarden

    Picarden Guest

    If u add the rule mentioned earlier in the thread. And enter port "1412" in Dc++ --> Settings --> Port, everything should be fine. Works for me at least.

    I´m in active mode and i can search ok!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.