Differential file backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Wolf Ruediger, May 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wolf Ruediger

Wolf Ruediger Registered Member

I'm new to Acronis 10.0 home (build 4871) ... and a little bit confused:

Reason:
    - Done: Full IMAGE backup on external USB drive. OK.
    - Wish: Hopefully FAST differential FILE backup instead of SLOW differential IMAGE backup (as experienced in step before). AND that on another drive (DVD-RAM) because USB drive is stored at another place.
    - Confusing: Differential file backup starts backing up *ALL* files regardless of their settings re. archive bit.

Using 'Backup Exec' and on board (W2K, XP) 'NT Backup' since a lot of years I'm familiar with behaviour that differential (or incremental) Backup saves ONLY Files with archive bit set (being resetted by full backup).

What about True Image?
    - Doesn't it use archive bits?
    - Does it only work against it's own full backup as reference?
    - In special: Does differential FILE backup only work against a full FILE backup?

Short explanation would be greatly appreciated ...

At the moment I use old fashioned 'Backup Exec' / 'NT Backup' in parallel for diferential file backup ... annoying!

Thanks in advance,

Wolf

2. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

Hello Wolf Ruediger, welcome to the Forum :D

You asked for a short answer. Here it is: -

1. Differential Backups

A differential backup will backup all files (or sectors) that have changed since the last FULL backup.

2. Incremental Backups

An incremental backup will backup all files (or sectors) that have changed since the last INCREMENTAL backup. (or FULL backup in the case of the first incremental).

3. My Computer / Images / Cloning

This type of backup creates a sector-by-sector backup of the partition (or the entire disk in the case of Cloning)

4. My Data / Files & Folders