different hardware

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mathayus, Mar 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mathayus

    mathayus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    is it possible to restore an image on a different hardware with ti10?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello mathayus,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please be aware that if you are going to restore the operating system to a different hardware the restored operating system might not boot because of the lack of the appropriate drivers. In this case we recommend that you prepare Windows for transferring using Microsoft System Preparation tool (Sysprep). However, even in case of using Sysprep we cannot guarantee the successful transferring of the operating system to a computer with the hardware configuration different from that of the original machine. The point is that sysprep allows replacing drivers only for Plug-and-Play devices (sound cards, network adapters, video cards etc.). As for system HAL and boot device driver, they must be identical in the source and target computers (see Microsoft Knowledge Base articles 302577 and 216915).

    If you want to be completely sure that the restored operating system will boot and function normally then we recommend that you use Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation in conjunction with Acronis Universal Restore for your purposes. Acronis Universal Restore technology provides an efficient solution for hardware-independent system restoration by replacing the crucial HAL and hard disk controller drivers. Please read more information on how to use Acronis Universal Restore in Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation User's Guide.

    Please be aware that Acronis Universal Restore is available only for Corporate Products.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  3. bilbus

    bilbus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    you need acronis 9.1 workstation + universal restore to restore to diff hardware.

    version 10 is for home use, and does not have that feature
     
  4. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Well, you use the word "possible", yes it is possible. However it depends how different the hardware is, and generally speaking you are likely to run into problems.

    I have suceeded a few times. I even managed to transfer my laptop system partition to a new HP using TI 8.

    The main problem is driver compatibility and a lot hinges on whether or not you can get the thing to reboot after you have restored. If you can it is possible to go to device manager and then replace any problematic drivers which are indicated. One way of increasing the chances of getting a reboot is to ensure that your source system is using a generic 640*480 VGA video driver before you make your image.

    If however you cant get a successful reboot after a restore, one possibility is to boot from your OS CD and select the "R"epair option often helps iron out incompatibilities.

    Give it a shot - why not. Make sure that your destination system is backed up too before you start.

    F.
     
  5. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    991
    Location:
    Hawaii
    If both motherboards are based on the same chipset and the other hardware is similar then you have a reasonable chance of success. As mentioned by foghorne, you may need to do a repair install of Windows afterwards.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.